Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2017, 12:25   #1

First boat for decent size family

Hi all! Long time reader, first time poster. I'm new to sailing, but don't yet have a boat. While I have some clubs nearby, they don't quite have boats big enough for what I'm looking for or are too far away. Essentially, I would like a decent size day cruiser that's good for a family of five. I'd like to be able to grow with the boat somewhat, but don't expect to fulfill longer/multi-day trips.

So, some info and what I'm looking for:
- I am new to sailing. I've taken the ASA 101 class, but no boat yet
- Looking for the smallest boat with the least amount of maintenance required that: 1) will comfortably fit a family of 5 with the occasional friend or two and has a head (or at least a space/privacy for a porta potti)
- Target to sail at least one day a week with up to three times a week
- Texas/Gulf Coat sailing
- Ideally an older boat to minimize depreciation rate as much as possible
- Ideally a boat that would be relatively easy to resell
- Would prefer to spend as little as possible (wouldn't we all), but targeting $20k or under. Might be able to stretch to $50k for the right boat.
- No rush to buy, but want to put my skills to use and keep them going.

My plan is to get a boat we can enjoy for a few years here in the Texas Gulf Coast area. As my skills grow, maybe charter larger boats on vacations over the years. Eventually, after several years, maybe move into a larger boat.