Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-01-2016, 16:57   #1

Buying a St. Martin Flagged Vessel as a US Resident.

Please help. I have found a vessel that my wife and I love. it is located in Grenada and flagged St. Martin (France).

We have no idea about the tax implications, and or the flagging differences however I am a US resident and my wife a US citizen. The seller says the vessel was once flagged in the USA.

What are the implications of taking the vessel back to the USA, flagging her back in the USA? Or is it better to keep her flagged in St. Martin? Does that have any other benefits and access to the EU, or tax implications that we might also consider.

This area is a minefield and looking for some guidance.

Cheers
joshrosenthal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2016, 17:51   #2
Elvish meaning 'Far-Wanderer'

Boat: 56' Fountaine Pajot Marquises
Re: Buying a St. Martin Flagged Vessel as a US Resident.

Hi Josh,
You might want to do a Cruisers Forum search for other threads as this has had a lot of attention before. If you haven't done one, use the second search box.