Looks like the guy on Port (P) has very little idea of how to sail. Not racing
will not protect Dennis from people like that: they'll get you anywhere. It apparently took P four tries to get over the line after he messed it up with the starboard tack boat (S). It also appears that after determining that he wasn't going to clear S, (Rule 10), P tacked too close, failing to keep clear of S during his tack.(Rule 13) S might have tried harder to avoid hitting P (Rule 14)- if that's what happened - but P's erratic and late actions might have made it quite difficult to miss him. If there was contact, S should not be penalized unless there was damage or injury (Rule 14 (b)) According to rule
44.1, P could take a 2-turns penalty if there was no damage or injury - whether there was contact or not. Perhaps that's what he was doing that made the RC think it took him four tries to sail across the line? It was hard to tell from the movie
where the actual finish line was. In any case, if there was damage, P should withdraw. Unless S protests, however, and there is a hearing, we won't get to find the actual facts of the case. Even with the movie
, we need more details from the people actually on the boats involved to find out what happened.