Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2010, 13:46   #1

Boat: Cape Dory 33, 17' Boston Whaler
Safety Precautions

I was asked by another member of this forum to talk about what boaters can do to assist rescue efforts should they ever find themselves in need of help. First, let me introduce myself-

My name is Jeff Daigle and I am a USCG helicopter pilot. I grew up sailing in Long Island Sound and went to Texas Maritime Academy for college. I graduated there with a degree in Marine Transportation along with an International Unlimited Tonnage Third Mate’s License. Rather than working as a Merchant Marine, I received a commission in the Coast Guard. I’m currently stationed in Atlantic City, NJ flying the HH and MH65C helicopters. I own and race a J22, I’m working on restoring a 1967 16’ Boston Whaler, and I should be taking possession of a 1980 Cape Dory 33 this week.

Please note that everything I say here is my opinion- I don’t speak for the USCG. My thoughts come from being both a sailor and a search and rescue (SAR) pilot. I’m happy to entertain discourse, so throw your doubts at me as you’d like.

Nobody ever plans on needing to be rescued, but there are things that everyone can do to prior to getting underway to set themselves up for success. Most of these are simple, and in this post I’ll address them. I’ll write another post that addresses the appropriate actions during a rescue.