Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Flotsam & Sailing Miscellany
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-01-2010, 15:38   #76
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters
I would like to chime in with my 2 cents. I have not read through all the previous posts but the arguments seem to go like so, so many I have read on other forums. We all get tied up in arguing about this or that fact, the larger picture gets lost. I'm no scientist, wouldn't matter if I was, there is disagreement. For myself I have resolved it this following way.

If, on the one hand we are not facing RUNAWAY global warming and we err and take measures to combat it we will probably cause a global recession. That may kill many people and lower the overall standard of living.

If, on the other hand, those who are warning of RUNAWAY global warming are correct and DON'T take necessary measures then we face global consequences of catastrophic proportions. In the worse case scenario we could create such a strong feedback that water vapor could not be sustained and the entire planet would become akin to Venus. That was the thrust of the Hansen paper I linked above.

Who is right? I don't know I think of it as like playing Russian Roulette. The chances are 5/6ths that you will "win." But the consequences of "losing", small as they are, are such that no prudent person would engage in the practice.