Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-05-2015, 21:23   #1

Mate Sharing Barter Around Southold, N.Y.

Hello, I am new to this, hoping to get boat on Tuesday. The hard part is the guy who is out here who is the one who delivered the boat where it's been for years is trying to convince me not to get it. A marine surveyor I met at a social function told me about it saying this is a decent boat just needs cleaning of alot of mold. The lady who owns it is sweet and elderly. She first made me wait saying the surveyor needed to show the boat and be in charge of moving it. Then a few days later after I tried to call him, no answer. I went to see her and she wasn't home my phone was acting up at that point she could barely hear me. But next time I called her she said I didn't have to wait for him, he is not answering his phone anyway. Then I tried to call marinas to find one affordable. Out here that's not easy. Nothing so far. To make that more interesting I thought I would find a partner. Someone who could put the boat in their yard or in back of their house. When I did not find that I thought I might put it in the front yard where I am living. The guy who works at the marina near her sounded negative. Changed prices on me so I went to another place just to see if they would deliver it they said 300 and when I asked does that include tax & license. He said hold on 55 more. Then they said we need to see the place your putting it so we will know if we can do it. We won't go see it unless you agree we can do this job. So I said sure. The guys son called me 7 am to say he saw it and the boat can't be placed there.