Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2008, 19:56   #1

Houston anyone?

A unique opportunity may be presented in which I could relocate within the company I currently work for to the Houston area. The best part is, it would include a 10k relo bonus. As discussed in other posts, I'm brand new to the sailing world, so try not to laugh too hard.

Is it possible to obtain something that floats for 10k or less, which also can be used as housing for the myself, the Mrs. and child? What does 10k get a person for a floating trainwreck? It's an 18 month lock in down in Houston. During that time period, we could pay off any/all outstanding debt and sell off both our houses. From there it's basically finding the right boat (not the trainwreck) to cruise the globe.

Can the pipedream work?
Old 03-12-2008, 20:21   #2

Boat: Irwin 41 CC Ketch
Most definitely...there are a ton of boats... some train wrecks and some not half bad trains that might actually move in that price range..and there is always the good deal for half that amount somewhere....most will be 30' and smaller on the sail boat side but for your first 18 month jag I would also not rule out power..That market is dead dead right now and a 35 cabin cruiser will have twice the squar footage of a 35 sail...Then once your financially liquid from whatever real estate your selling you have way more time to look around at your bug out boat.

Live aboard slips are getting harder and harder to find though.

Good Luck

Relationships are everything to me...everything else in life is just a tool to enhance them.
Stillraining is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 05:39   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422