Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2018, 18:50   #1

High-tech entrepreneur contemplating life as a liveaboard

Hello, All! I have been cruising these forums for several months and feel like I have learnt so much. As the title depicts, I am a high-tech entrepreneur that has just recently exited. I am contemplating taking several years to travel the globe with my wife, our two kids and her parents. I know little about sailing but have a knack for picking things up fairly quickly. I currently explore the continental US by flying my family around on the weekends.

A few more details:
- We are a young family (I am under 30)
- I think we want to travel without a crew
- I have recently looked at the xquisite x5 and the lagoon 560 (we prefer cats)
- Acquisition budget is flexible but wouldn't want to spend more than $3m
- $350k a year budget for living

My question is - What does life look like for me and my family as liveaboards on a cat with our budget? Which catamaran would you choose? Where would you start your journey? What does sticking around at remote destinations for months at a time look like?

Thanks everyone!
blueskiesandsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 19:23   #2

Boat: Harbor 20, Seawind 1370 (2024)
Re: High-tech entrepreneur contemplating life as a liveaboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueskiesandsea View Post
My question is - What does life look like for me and my family as liveaboards on a cat with our budget? Which catamaran would you choose? Where would you start your journey? What does sticking around at remote destinations for months at a time look like?