Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2019, 21:42   #31

Boat: Fisher pilothouse sloop 32'
Re: What to do for college...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelagic View Post
Sad to hear you felt that way rbk..... Maybe you just got burned out or was in a negative working environment.

In the Superyacht business, you get all kinds of guests who arrive angry and frustrated about issues not related to you.
They can vent or overact and while hardest on the junior crew, usually stewardess, I advise that upset crew to just "kill them with kindness"
...cause that's the sweetest revenge.

Usually guests do a 180 and become friends with the crew member they gave a hard time to..... If not, I step in to support my crew.

I found that when I was a scuba diving instructor, I got stressed with the student who thought they already knew it all.
Probably thats what you got as a guide, but 9 out of 10 were a delight to listen to after their first open water dive.
Quote:
Originally Posted by thinwater View Post
I have several friends that decided to skip college and either work with boats or other outdoor pursuits. Both were top 2% of their high school class. At 58, both are bitter about the fact that they have no money and will have to worked steady until they drop.

I finished school, worked while climbing and sailing on weekends and holidays, and now I am semi retired. This is better. In the end I will have more play time and better understand it's value. They have sore joint and can barely maintain physical careers. Catching up financially is nearly impossible.

But your mileage may vary. Your 16. I know a lot more about me than I did when I was 16.

And who in the hell said that conventional work can't be fun?! Pick a career you like or even love. I've started doing some consulting again... because I like the challenge! Sometimes it's as much fun as sailing, sometimes even more. Love your work!