Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2019, 04:19   #1

Making an offer - advice please

Could you shine a light on the "making an offer" process. From what I've read, it varies a lot from broker to broker.
We are looking at a yacht in Florida and are offering 17% below asking. Quite a long shot I realise but nothing ventured, nothing gained!
The broker wants a 10% deposit up front saying CAN'T present the offer to the owner without it.
Our money is in South Africa - so paying it across before we know if the sale is even a possibility, is going to cost a lot in bank charges due to exchanging currency and sending across, if offer is rejected, we will pay it all over again to come back to us.
We are totally prepared to pay the deposit when we know that seller will accept the offer by way of a signed offer agreement.
Is this unreasonable?
Old 05-03-2019, 04:25   #2

Boat: Jeanneau SO469
Re: Making an offer - advice please

I am not a lawyer. But any contract requires some money to change hands to be valid. An offer to buy is a binding contract, with usual limits of inspection etc. Perhaps a small “earnest money” of $1000.00 or so can be offered with the initial offer with the offer including the 10% deposit within X days of acceptance? This works with houses and should be enough to force the broker to present the offer.
Peeew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 05:17   #3
cruiser

What post #2 says. Send a copy of the check and explain that it will be funded within a specified time period following acceptance of your offer. Just explain your circumstances.
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 05:26   #4

Boat: Alden 50, Sarasota, Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by teaden View Post
The broker wants a 10% deposit up front saying CAN'T present the offer to the owner without it.