Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Boat Ownership & Making a Living
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2019, 04:59   #1

Buy a boat that is ready to sail or Renovate one

I am new to sailing and looking for suggestions on my first boat. Would it be better to buy a "ready to go" boat or buy cheaper and renovate over a couple of months?

If I buy a project boat, I will surely learn everything about the boat as I am renovating it, allowing me to pretty much fix everything myself.

If I buy a boat that is ready to go, it could take me quite a while before I learn everything and there is no guarantee that I will be able to fix it myself without paying an expert. ie. the repairs might be more expensive overall

Does anyone wish they renovated instead of buying RTG?
Conradb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 05:09   #2
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: Buy a boat that is ready to sail or Renovate one

Well.. I have bought a few fixer uppers in the past..
Lost a lot of sailing time so took up deliveries and lost lottsa fixing up time..

You can't beat a people up (for 75yrs+) and have them say..
"I Love You.. ". Murray Roman.
Yet the 'useful idiots' of the West still dance to the beat of the apartheid drums.
boatman61 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 05:11   #3

Boat: Volkscruiser
Re: Buy a boat that is ready to sail or Renovate one

Thanks for the laugh, “renovate over a couple of months” that’s hysterical. Most readers on this forum would consider 2 months barely enough time to get a “ready to go yacht” ready.
I would go for a reasonable yacht that has a good rig and engine. The rest you should be able to fix yourself.
Cheers
Fore and Aft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 05:22   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conradb View Post