Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-11-2013, 05:36   #1

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Will Fiberglass Resin Stick to Bondo?

I'm repairing a hole in a little rowboat I use to get to my mooring. I've never worked with fiberglass before. The area around the hole is filled with Bondo (polyester auto body filler). Is it essential to get out every speck of it? It's very tedious.
We must have a turn together . . . . I undress . . . . hurry me out of sight of the land,
Cushion me soft . . . . rock me in billowy drowse,
Dash me with amorous wet . . . . I can repay you."
Walt Whitman
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2013, 05:39   #2

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401
Polyester resin will adhere nicely with scuffed up bondo........at least as hard as I've ever tried to pull it apart. Epoxy I have no idea about, but don't think it should be a problem.
Your bigger problem will be how hard the bondo is adhered to what's below it. Bit being a soft fairing compound will come off easily with the application of a sanding disc on a 4" grinder.
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2013, 06:06   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Moody 31
Re: Will Fiberglass Resin Stick to Bondo?

Make the mix "hot" because the air temp is 7.c at the moment otherwise it may not go off. Use a wide shallow dish to mix the resin which helps slow the reaction. If it goes off half way through the job, just ditch it, if you try to use it as it goes plastic then it will end in tears.

Shout if you need a dremel or angle grinder.

Pete
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2013, 06:19   #4

Boat: Columbia 41