Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2010, 20:37   #1

Boat: 1977 Newport 30 MkII
Recommended Maintenance Schedule?

I am trying to get an idea of a maintenance plan for a 32-36ft monohull sailboat.

Basically, how often should I be doing what?

%99 of the time the boat will be on the Columbia River, also a liveaboard.

How often should certain systems be checked, maintained, etc.

I am new to this and need the big picture.

Thanks!
shibbershabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 21:39   #2
CF Adviser

Boat: 14 meter sloop
wow. huge question. hard to answer without writing a book. I'll give some general guidelines and hope others pipe in. please realize that much of this depends on use, and the more use a boat gets, the more frequently that maintenance is required.

standing rigging: inspect yearly, replace every ten years.
running rigging: inspect monthly, replace every three years.
bottom paint: clean 4 times yearly, haul every two-three years
engine: as per owner's manual, but at a minimum figure on a complete change of oil/filters annually.
pumps: for liveaboards, figure on rebuilding pumps every two years
polishing brass, stainless, and fiberglass: annually (more if you like a pretty boat.)
exterior brightwork: every six months at your latitude. more if you move south
bilge cleaning: every six months if wet, once a year if dry
mildew remediation: in your ecosystem, monthly, but figure on a once-per-year marathon where you empty every locker and lazarette and scrub till you drop.
refrigeration, charging systems, electronics, propane systems: whenever they break
cleaning quano from decks: constant
Old 04-03-2010, 21:40   #3

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now
If your a liveaboard the maintenance will be different then a sea going vessel.