Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2013, 08:21   #1

Boat: Island Packet MKI 26
New Core for Foredeck

I know there are 100 threads on this topic but I havent found one yet to answer this question. Has anyone used polycarbonate as a core replacement? I need to replace the core in my foredeck, and I dont like the idea of using wood again (marine ply or balsa). Im not a professional so I'd like to use something that wont get soft or rot if water does happen to get in there again. I have used the polycarbonate for backing plates, etc., but would it be too rigid? I can either install in thinner layers and epoxy together or one 1/2 piece, but im not sure how much flex the material needs to have to move with the hull.
Captndan714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 08:39   #2
always in motion is the future

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Sundeer 64
Re: New Core for Foredeck

There is plastic honeycomb too....
s/v Jedi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 08:44   #3

Coosa 26 lb Bluewater Foam core is the answer you're looking for.

Keep it clean and out of the sun. Hit it with acetone before glassing. Beautiful for coring decks
Lojanica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 11:00   #4

Is the Coosa foam one piece or do you install in layers? Do you know the cost?
Old 08-04-2013, 16:01   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captndan714 View Post
Is the Coosa foam one piece or do you install in layers? Do you know the cost?
Coosa is the brand name. It comes in different thicknesses and weight. The 26lb refers to the weight per cubic foot. It is extruded polyurethane with integrated fiberglass. Waterproof and strong. Needs to be glassed. Can be sized and cut into any shape or thickness. Expensive as is all good quality core.