Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2015, 12:49   #1

Boat: Morgan, 30-1
Yanmer Turns Over Won't Fire

Okay total diesel newbie here, prepare yourself for a silly question.

Just bought a project boat that has a yanmer diesel motor, my first diesel. When I bought it the PO fired it right up. Now I can't get it to fire. If this was a gas engine I would squirt some starter spray in it for now to fire it and later clean the carb. But I'm a total newbie at diesel.

What is my troubleshooting line of thought here?
Test the choke to see if it's hooked up? How would I do that?
How do I know if I've over-choked it? Can I flood a diesel?

Sorry about all these silly questions, I appreciate your wisdom.
allanbranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 12:54   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Islander 34
Re: Yanmer Turns Over Won't Fire

There is no choke on a diesel. Move the throttle to about 1/2 open and crank it. Once it fires, push the throttle back to idle and let it warm up for 5 minutes.

If it does not fire, search this forum for how to bleed a diesel engine. A rite of passage.

Enjoy.
sailorchic34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 14:50   #3

Boat: Morgan, 30-1

I will try again tomorrow and start googling "bleed a diesel engine."

Thanks for your help.
allanbranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 15:15   #4

Boat: Burger 74' motor yacht, 65 foot 12 metre, Flicka and sailing dinghy