Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-04-2015, 18:45   #1

So Much To Learn...So Intimidating!

I'm a relative newbie to the site but I've posted a couple of times. We are in the market for a new catamaran in the mid 40s range and have narrowed it down to a couple of choices. Timeline is 3-6 months before pulling the trigger. We plan to use the boat ourselves and not put it in charter. We plan to sail about half the year and work the rest. My sailing experience is relatively limited... we had a mono when I was younger and in retrospect we had no idea what we were doing. We recently got back into sailing after a 15 year hiatus and took multiple ASA courses to get back to a level of proficiency. Since then we've chartered about 6 times in the BVIs on cats ranging to about 45ft.