Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2016, 08:23   #1

Boat: TBD
Opinions please on cat purchase

This looks like the year when we can ditch our stuff and take to the seas. We have decided to get a cat. My experience is for years with a Hobie, plus I've now taken a bunch of ASA classes, including a week on a cat for ASA 114. So yes, I'm an educated beginner. As we look at purchasing something, I would like your educated/experienced opinions.

So first:

Observation: cats in the last 5 years seem to have a much better design, so that the "feels like" of a 38' or 40' boat is equivalent to a 43-45' boat from 15 years ago, and the new ones have better cockpit layouts. True or false?

Rumor: Lagoon, FP, and Leopard are all fine boats, but Catana is that next step up in quality of build. True or false?

Generally agreed: Charter cats will tend to be beat up and in worse shape than owner's cats in the same age/length. EDIT: Looking through a few threads on charters, and getting a feel for an answer, no need to address this.