Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 04:34   #1

Send a message via AIM to sonerai Send a message via Skype™ to sonerai
Catalac 9m Hull Damage

I am considering purchasing a late 70's Catalac 9m which has incurred some hull damage, (from 'slamming' - allegedly, though looks more like grounding?). There are several small deep cracks (7 or 8).
Is the inside of this area, which is the forward part of hull between the pontoons on the 'ribbed' area accesable from inside the vessel?

My concern is that water ingress may have damaged the upper deck supporting structure,wood,fibreglass etc.
If access is impossible what are your thoughts on a long term repair schedule.
I am a proficient engineer and diy person but have little experience in structural fibeglass repairs (though have read and watched a lot of information). Any useful comment welcomed.
sonerai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 04:45   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Moody 31
Re: Catalac 9m hull damage

Hi and welcome to CF

The good news is yes it is repairable and I would suggest buying the west system manual which will explain all and enable a DIY repair.

Can't answer the specific questions because I haven't been on board a Catalac, however, unlikely to have damaged the deck. More likely will be water damage to bulkheads lower down but until you go on board you won't know for sure. Even if they are wet, it is all repairable but do make sure it's going to be cost effective. In other words will the costs and epoxy isn't cheap plus your time give a good return on the purchase against buying one which doesn't need the work.