Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2017, 22:57   #1

Boat: 10' surfboard
Where in the grand scheme of budget does diesel vs gas fit?

Most regulars around here know I am looking for a boat, and I have little practical experience, in addition to being on a budget, and generally a thrifty Scotsman

I have settled on specific makes and models that I want, but now I am in a conundrum because of the diesel engine.

I realize repower is out of line for the type of boats I am looking at, as the cost is likely to approach or exceed the value of the boat, so the the engine it comes with is what I am stuck with.

Naturally I want a brand spanking new yanmar, however I am starting to think true value in my budget range may fall to the classic atomic 4.

At this point I am thinking a recently rebuilt (or new install) atomic with a newer riser and a clean gas tank may be cheaper to maintain and service, and possibly more reliable than a diesel with significant hours.

I also may be able to acquire superior hull, sails, rigging etc... if I settle for an less desirable gas engine, and stay on the same budget.

The boat will be for extended cruising, long term, liveaboard. I dont plan to motorsail a lot (nobody does right?), and my boat design choices are skewed toward light wind and sailing performance rather than battleship strength and lifeboat stylings, so maybe I won't need to motor as much...

I'm guessing oil changes and filters and parts, rebuilds and everything is cheaper on the gas engine right?