Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-12-2008, 15:18   #1

Beneteau Idylle 11.5 - 1985 Questions

Greetings! I'm new to the forum. Not only am I new to the forum, but I'm a newbie at sailing, hence my handle "landlubber".

I'm actually posting for a friend of mine. He was born in Germany right before WWII and now lives here in the U.S. He doesn't have a computer, though, and English is his second language, so I help him with his online stuff, and he helps me with some of my household projects.

My friend is looking at purchasing a Beneteau Idylle 11.5 - 1985. He's a consummate sailor and has built his own cruiser in the past. Don't let my newbie aura make you think this isn't a serious inquiry.

He had some questions that only you folks who know sailing and boats can help with. Here are his questions about the Idylle 11.5:

- Overall, would it make a good coastal cruiser? He wonders about things like:

- The hull shape. Does it slap a lot?

- He wonders about the keel length (4.5'). Does it allow for good lateral stability?

- How does the boat "point"?

- What is the displacement? He's seen printed books that state anywhere from 11,000 to 14,000 to 20,000+. Confusing to say the least.

- Anything else you might want to add--pro or con--regarding the Idylle 11.5. He's eager for input from sailors.

He'd like to sail the boat along the Pacific Ocean coast. He lives in the Bay Area, California. His longest anticipated trip is to Mexico, but he thinks most will be local; in the San Francisco Bay [which can get rough] down to Santa Barbara, etc.