Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-04-2011, 15:47   #16
Registered User
 
Mark1977's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Halifax, N.S Canada
Boat: Tanzer 26, Walk22
Posts: 930
Re: Anyone Have a Bell ? How / Where Did You Mount it ?

Rules shmules...... bells now adays are purely decorative.
__________________

__________________
Mark1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2011, 15:54   #17
Registered User
 
markpierce's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central California
Boat: M/V Carquinez Coot
Posts: 3,413
Re: Anyone Have a Bell ? How / Where Did You Mount it ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Burgette View Post
But you're supposed to have it on a 40 footer....right?
Maybe, but measure precisely because 12 meters equals 39.37 feet or 39 feet and 4.44 inches. The measurement is the distance between the hull ends.

Get clarification from Captain Bill. He says a rule change affected boats between 12 and 20 meters but not in inland waters, if I correctly understand.
__________________

__________________
Kar-KEEN-ez Koot
markpierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2011, 16:07   #18
Senior Cruiser
 
Lancerbye's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ladysmith,BC, Vancouver Island , Canada
Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Posts: 1,757
Images: 32
Re: Anyone Have a Bell ? How / Where Did You Mount it ?

As well as the decommissioned bell I have a loud hailer with auto fog horn signals. I prefer that in a fog.
__________________
The basis of accomplishment is in never quitting
Mengzi Meng-tse
Lancerbye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2011, 16:15   #19
Registered User
 
ty.gregory's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Boat: Islander Freeport 41' Ketch
Posts: 422
Re: Anyone Have a Bell ? How / Where Did You Mount it ?

If I had a bell like that I'd find a place for it. Alas, I have no bell, and even if I did, I have no boat.
__________________
ty.gregory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2011, 16:15   #20
Registered User
 
markpierce's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central California
Boat: M/V Carquinez Coot
Posts: 3,413
Re: Anyone Have a Bell ? How / Where Did You Mount it ?

I agree. Automatic controls (see control at lower center of upper panel) for the horn are the way to go.

__________________
Kar-KEEN-ez Koot
markpierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2011, 17:11   #21
Senior Cruiser
 
Lancerbye's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ladysmith,BC, Vancouver Island , Canada
Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Posts: 1,757
Images: 32
Re: Anyone Have a Bell ? How / Where Did You Mount it ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ty.gregory View Post
If I had a bell like that I'd find a place for it. Alas, I have no bell, and even if I did, I have no boat.
Well you know what you have to do. You have to buy a boat so you have a place to install a bell. Sounds logical to me.
__________________
The basis of accomplishment is in never quitting
Mengzi Meng-tse
Lancerbye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2011, 17:33   #22
Registered User
 
capnorv's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bainbridge Island Washington on the Salish Sea
Boat: Hardin 45 Voyager Alice B., Gig Harbor 10, Orca 7 1/2 sloop, 16' sea kayak
Posts: 364
Images: 1
Re: Anyone Have a Bell ? How / Where Did You Mount it ?

Beautiful bell! True a bell is not required for your vessel, but I have a 6" bell mounted on the boom gallows on our 34' and have found it extremely useful for signaling in anchorages for dinner, getting underway, etc. Our 45' has now got a 8" bell mounted on the mizzen mast right behind the helm station, with a set of ear plugs to enable it's proper use LOL. I used to have a 27' that I mounted a 6" bell on the starboard side rear of the house on a piece of teak, later moved it to a cold molded hard dodger I made. Sorry, no pics of that, but the others can probably be zoomed in on on my users page album. And yes, it's still required 8", 12 meter, inland only, at anchor, 5 rapid gongs/2 minutes, but rarely used. Any action to avoid collision in limited visibility is the responsibility of the skipper, not just following the rules,I'm not a maritime lawyer, but that's my interpretation.I don't think there's to many of us with boats that would get the better of a cruise ship, freighter, or tanker, and I for one don't want to try.
__________________
capnorv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2011, 17:52   #23
Registered User
 
Nicholson58's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Live aboard
Boat: Camper & Nicholson58 Ketch - ROXY Traverse City, Michigan No.668283
Posts: 3,466
Images: 83
Re: Anyone Have a Bell ? How / Where Did You Mount it ?

My yard mate has a bell similar to yours, sorry no photos. He has it mounted to a teak platform between the mast and cockpit with a line rigged to operate it from the cockpit. Make sure you lag it down well or it may go away. Quite a nice bell. Leave it as is or use a Scotch Brite wheel to but a brite polish on it in about 10 minutes. We bought our pretty nice 10" bell just before the rule was changed. I didn't see a nice place to mount so I rigged a SS shackle to hang it from the aft side of the dodger near the binacle. We move it on deck when we are on board and store it from overhead hand grips below.
__________________

__________________
Nicholson58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8" Bell Required ? Loquat Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape 25 01-06-2013 18:32
Looking for Bell Mount sarafina Construction, Maintenance & Refit 7 21-04-2010 12:22
Anchor Mount... Randyonr3 Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 3 09-03-2010 14:37
bell housing mercruiser cutbrain Propellers & Drive Systems 0 29-03-2009 09:59
got a radar, so how do I mount it? Aquah0lic Marine Electronics 17 27-11-2008 02:50



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.