Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Cruising Business & Commerce > Crew Positions: Wanted & Available > Crew Archives
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-08-2016, 08:28   #1

Boat: Tanzer,1976,26'
How likely is it to get on as crewman?

I'm new here, and have no experience. I'm a technician by trade, can fix anything, what's the likely hood of getting on a boat and being paid, or not paid?
Old 30-08-2016, 09:19   #2

Boat: Prior boats: Transpac 49; DeFever 54
Thumbs up Re: How likely is it to get on as crewman?

If you have a history of dependability, hard work and pick up things foreign to you quickly, you stand a good chance of getting to crew, unpaid on both sail and power to start and work into a paid crew position.
You might try canvassing sailing clubs to get an unpaid berth aboard a racer. Great experience and if you are flexible enough to leave at the last minute and will help out with prepping the boat and putting her away after a race, you stand a good chance of getting a permanent slot.
One of the best crew I ever engaged on deliveries was a young woman who convinced me of her worth, had good non-marine references and a history of dependability. After a couple of off shore trips, I could leave her at the helm alone, comfortable enough to grab a bit of sleep.
I believe she went on to aquire a 100 ton Masters ticket and the rest was history. The only problem I had was that she was quite attractive and my wife didn't think much of us spending so much time aboard together alone or with one other crew member! Phil
Old 30-08-2016, 21:49   #3

Re: How likely is it to get on as crewman?

Hi Capt Phil

I would like to extend on that first question. Where would you suggest to look for work? Are these forums a good place to start?
Old 31-08-2016, 07:49   #4

Boat: Prior boats: Transpac 49; DeFever 54