Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2010, 16:06   #1

Boat: Sold our 1974 27' Ericson
The Rules of the Road (or Lack Thereof)

I'm just beginning to research the would-be life of living on a sailboat (well, me and the doggo). I'm a very rugged outdoors woman, I've worked as canyoneering/hiking guides for years, so living in the 'lack of luxury' is nothing new. Neither is space, or hauling my own water, food, waste, etc. I'm temporarily looking to dock in Florida, however, I must admit I'm a bit of a loner and don't care for crowded docks (plus all the rules/regulations, noise, and everything that goes with it). Do I have to dock in a marina, or are there more private places that I can hang my hat?

Also, any recommendations for a boat. I've been looking at a appro. 30ft Catalina. My goal is to set up shop in Florida for a few months and sail on down to Central America when the time is right. Would this be the best boat for this journey? My budget is around $10k.

Thanks in advance!
Janae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 16:17   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Hunter Legend 37.5 1993
Send a message via Skype™ to Inkwell
What part of Florida? You should search CF for info on costs of living on board, boats purchasing, etc. There is a lot of info on this Board available to you. Welcome and good luck in your pursuit of the dream we all share.
Old 05-11-2010, 17:16   #3

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now