Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2014, 05:54   #1
tat

Boat: cabin cruiser 22ft
First launch and ballast advice please.

I have a 22ft fibreglass cabin cruiser which is to be used, at least at first, on inland navigable waterways.

I have re-fit it out completely. I am new to boats, totally new.

The boat is on a trailer. There is a local marina with a slipway, which I can use.

The only concern i have is that it might capsize then or later if I don't have the ballast right. Is this a thing I should concern myself with?

When i got the boat and stripped it out there was small bags filled with sand crammed into the little space there was below the floor, some steel stakes, too, and in the bow was six 56 pound weights, I guess to level it all up.

I would be very greatful for any thoughts anyone might have about this matter, however much or little they may know about the subject.

If there is anything you think you need to know from me before you can comment, then ask away.

tat
tat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 06:15   #2

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401
Re: First launch and ballast advice please.

I very much doubt it will capsize, I'd venture to guess the ballast was places to trim the boat.

Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 06:24   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

I've never seen a 22' power boat ballasted. Never seen trim weights either so I can't help.