Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-07-2013, 12:38   #1

Boat: Lord Nelson 35
Beneteau Delamination Question

Hi all! I'm looking at a late 80's Beneteau First 345 and the owner has disclosed to me that there's an area of the deck about a square foot that is delaminated. I have no tools or experience to make this repair. *IF* that is an accurate description of the delamination, what cost would I look at to have that repaired. The owner described the area as "a little soft". The asking price is pretty reasonable, all other things considered. I know it's difficult to know how extensive the situation is, but, for something described as the owner is saying, what would you expect the repair to cost (ballpark)? Obviously I would get a complete survey prior to purchase.

Steve
Steve Olson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2013, 12:57   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Beneteau Delamination Question

The possibilities are so varied that maybe better to give a few possible scenarios. However, before getting into this boat you should get a really, really good survey. Find someone that is experienced with wet decks and a moisture meter and a good ear with a rubber mallet and do not commit until you know what you're getting into. Testing and interpreting moisture in a core with a meter takes some knowledge and experience to do accurately so make sure the surveyor knows what he/she is doing.