Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2016, 08:35   #16

Boat: Cape George pilothouse 36 and a Cape Dory 25
Re: Am I crazy or what

I have no experience shipping boats anywhere, but, I have met plenty of cruisers who took off with less training than you seem to have. I would consider getting some more experienced folk to sail south to maybe Washington next summer with you. Then if it turns out you don't like the boat it would be in a bigger market for you to sell and if you like it it would be in a better location to ship. In regards to whether you are crazy, which I have more experience with, jthere is a simple test you could take. Read the 8 Bill Tilman sailing books and see just how much you identify with him.
fatherchronica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 08:45   #17

Boat: Catalina 30

Wow, lots of interesting answers. Here's what I would say:
1. Steel hulls: no way. You will be fighting rust from day one, you have no idea how difficult they are to maintain. My dad owned one. I know.

2. Do not, under any circumstance, buy a boat from way far away. The costs of transport will eat you alive. Plus, just think of what happens in transport as that boat goes jiggle, bumpty bump all the way to your place. Boats aren't designed for that.