Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-05-2017, 08:04   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: 36.5 Custom Cold Molded Cruiising Cutter
Posts: 94
Which Fluke multimeter?

I have owned several cheap multimeters and think if I buy a Fluke it will last longer if not always.
The Fluke 101 is only 49.00 on Amazon. It does not measure current (amps). The next lowest priced model jumps up to 136.00.

Will that take be sufficient for on board electrical or do i need to be able to measure current? i have a battery monitor that tells me how many amps i am pulling from solar or gives battery state.

Thanks,

Onemoreproject
__________________

Onemoreproject is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 08:19   #2
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,600
Images: 4
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

You won't regret having a DC clamp-on ammeter on board, but for general use you can usually get by with a "Volts and Ohms" meter. If you are troubleshooting power systems the ammeter is a very useful tool.

I like and have numerous Fluke meters (I'm an electronics engineer), but on the boat I also carry a "beater" DC clamp-on ammeter sold by Sears that only costs $60 (http://www.sears.com/craftsman-digit...p-03482369000P). So far it's held up well.
__________________

__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 08:19   #3
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 26,885
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

Not the one I have, but in the less that $100 category for a Fluke on Amazon, maybe?
https://www.amazon.com/Fluke-323-Tru...keywords=fluke

On edit on a closer look, it seems it will NOT measure DC amperage?
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 08:56   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 12,151
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

Secondhand but higher quality, eBay's got a better guarantee than some new sellers.

I picked up a Greenlee CMT-80 for $35, happy so far.

This seems the lowest currently, try a lowball offer and keep a search open to check periodically

http://www.ebay.com/itm/232339641424
john61ct is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 09:02   #5
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pangaea
Posts: 10,856
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

I just two days ago purchased a brand new Fluke 374 clamp on meter on ebay for $185 delivered. Looks like it will do everything on a boat including reading low d/c amps. Hope it works out, it looks easy to understand.
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 09:16   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: 36.5 Custom Cold Molded Cruiising Cutter
Posts: 94
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Elliott View Post
You won't regret having a DC clamp-on ammeter on board, but for general use you can usually get by with a "Volts and Ohms" meter. If you are troubleshooting power systems the ammeter is a very useful tool.

I like and have numerous Fluke meters (I'm an electronics engineer), but on the boat I also carry a "beater" DC clamp-on ammeter sold by Sears that only costs $60 (Sears.com). So far it's held up well.
Thanks for the advice, I already have a clamp on amp meter
Onemoreproject is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 09:31   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,644
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

I just bought the 107. Which does small current. And wasn't much more then the 101.

I already had a fluke clamp and really just wanted the diode mode.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 09:54   #8
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 26,885
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenomac View Post
Looks like it will do everything on a boat including reading low d/c amps.
To me that is key, I don't care if it will measure 600 amps or not, it's measuring low amperage I want, currently I have to put my multimeter in line to measure amperage, be nice to have a clamp on that will accurately measure to the amp
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 10:02   #9
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,600
Images: 4
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by a64pilot View Post
Not the one I have, but in the less that $100 category for a Fluke on Amazon, maybe?
https://www.amazon.com/Fluke-323-Tru...keywords=fluke

On edit on a closer look, it seems it will NOT measure DC amperage?
Yes, this one does not measure DC current.

As for measuring low currents with the clamp-meter, If there is enough slack in the wires, you can wrap a few turns through the clamp jaws for a multiplier effect. Ten turns multiplies the measurement x 10.
__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 10:18   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: New England
Boat: Catalina 36
Posts: 66
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

I have the model 325 Fluke but am regretting that it only measures to once decimal place. For DC Volts, there is a big difference between 12.51 and 12.59. It actually rounds, so 12.51 would display as 12.5 and 12.59 would display as 12.6
mikeo16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 11:45   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 12,151
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

http://www.eevblog.com/projects/ucurrent/

Site is a great resource on tools.

Search their forum for an endless review thread on cheap DMMs.
john61ct is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 12:05   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Caribbean winters, North Dakota/Minnesota summers
Boat: Leopard 39 Owners Version
Posts: 359
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

This ain't a fluke but I used it before I went to the boat and 6 months on the boat in the heat and humidity of the Caribbean.. about daily. Really like it. Better than my high end one in the shop at home.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Privleoplag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 12:15   #13
Registered User
 
Sailor_Hutch's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dreaming - through the bars to the Chesapeake... Land cabin: near Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 466
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

My Fluke was purchased in 1987. I've only ever had to change the battery. Good choice.
__________________
Sailor_Hutch was born for water. His 130 pounds, well insulated, floats like a bouy. With webbed paws, he gracefully paddles - The Umbrella Man.
Sailor_Hutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 13:47   #14
Registered User
 
CaptTom's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern Maine
Boat: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser
Posts: 1,631
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

Fluke makes good stuff, but...

DON'T buy this one, or one like it:


It's light, and the case is rounded on the back. It just spins every which way with any stray movement of the leads, which are kind of short. It's totally unstable on any surface, and will always spin to make the display unreadable. You need a third hand to hold the meter to face you.

I'd rather have an old-fashioned "brick" that at least lays flat.
CaptTom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2017, 14:21   #15
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: St. John, USVI
Boat: 2003 Beneteau 423
Posts: 330
Re: Which Fluke multimeter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Privleoplag View Post
This ain't a fluke but I used it before I went to the boat and 6 months on the boat in the heat and humidity of the Caribbean.. about daily. Really like it. Better than my high end one in the shop at home.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
That's the cheap Signstek unit I have been using as well. It seems to work well. My old Fluke does not measure current. I end up using the cheap unit over the Fluke since it is at hand.

Cheers, RickG
__________________

__________________
RickG & Sweet Christine
S/V Echoes - 2003 Beneteau 423
St. John, USVI - hauled out Fajardo, PR for hurricane season, splashing October 21
RickG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLD] Fluke Model 80k-6 Hi voltage probe SailorHarry Classifieds Archive 0 17-10-2013 17:22
Unknown Fluke Anchor - How Does it Work ? Who Made it ? sdowney717 Anchoring & Mooring 6 05-08-2011 15:03
Fluke 114? CAELESTIS Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 13 03-08-2009 04:53
Fluke Tutorials GordMay Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 8 24-07-2007 12:48
Electrical Fire Prevention from Fluke GordMay Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 12-08-2005 09:49

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:54.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.