Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-07-2016, 05:36   #1
Registered User
 
Obi Wan's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Niceville
Boat: O'Day 34
Posts: 164
Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

This is a question on a very specific subject regarding a Victron Multiplus 12-3000-50 inverter. I purchased and am in the process of installing. I bought it so I could run the AC afloat using a small portable generator so the Victron can "boost" the compressor start.

The Victron has an AC-out-2 which only provides AC power when connected to a generator or shore power. This to prevent quickly draining batteries when using high draw items like water heaters or air conditioners (the examples used in their own manual).

However, that same manual only says that the "boost" feature is available on AC-out-1 (the one that can run off batteries only). It doesn't say that it's not available on AC-out-2, it only mentions it under AC-out-1. This makes no sense at all since the purpose of AC-out-2 is to limit high-drain usage on batteries, and high-drain is the point of the boost!

Anyone an expert on this and have any insight?
__________________

__________________
Like what you do or do what you like.
Obi Wan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 06:05   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 121
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obi Wan View Post
This is a question on a very specific subject regarding a Victron Multiplus 12-3000-50 inverter. I purchased and am in the process of installing. I bought it so I could run the AC afloat using a small portable generator so the Victron can "boost" the compressor start.

The Victron has an AC-out-2 which only provides AC power when connected to a generator or shore power. This to prevent quickly draining batteries when using high draw items like water heaters or air conditioners (the examples used in their own manual).

However, that same manual only says that the "boost" feature is available on AC-out-1 (the one that can run off batteries only). It doesn't say that it's not available on AC-out-2, it only mentions it under AC-out-1. This makes no sense at all since the purpose of AC-out-2 is to limit high-drain usage on batteries, and high-drain is the point of the boost!

Anyone an expert on this and have any insight?
Had a victron specialist over yesterday and you are correct in that high load items should be on AC2, he referred to it as the transfer leg and AC1 as the short or inverter leg. Should run from genset or shore only and will allow for a high boost to help start those items like watermakers, aircon etc. My builder simply installed everything on AC1 and the system would shut down when the high boost of the watermaker kicked in.
__________________

__________________
EvilRabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 06:13   #3
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 18,991
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

There is no Power Boost on the second AC output, which is the whole point. Inverted power will not be used for whatever you put on that output, like an immersion heater for example.

Just put your AC on the main output, but be careful not to turn the AC on when no shore power or generator power is present.

Your builder did it right. You just have to manage the loads so that they don't overwhelm the inverter. The "3000" inverter (I have the same one) is not 3kW -- it's 2.5kW best case, and 2kW in hot weather. It will provide double the rated output for a few seconds, so at least 4kW, maybe 5kW.

In my experience it works well for startup loads, but you have to be sure that you're not doing a lot of other things at the same time. The system is great but requires a bit of management.
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 06:57   #4
Registered User
 
Obi Wan's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Niceville
Boat: O'Day 34
Posts: 164
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
There is no Power Boost on the second AC output, which is the whole point.
Well, it seems to me it's the opposite of the point - i.e. Victron is contradicting themselves. They say the boost function is great for things like when an air conditioner compressor kicks in, but then say put the Air Conditioner on AC-out-2 which has no boost function, apparently.

It doesn't make sense.

For me, I was never planning on running the AC, even with the Victron installed, unless shore power or a generator is attached. Running it with just batteries would drain them in minutes. So it would make perfect sense to have that on AC-out-2, and have the boost function.

Of course, you can always just not turn on the Air Conditioner when on batteries only, but as we all know, there are usually other people on the boat who may not always do the right thing.
__________________
Like what you do or do what you like.
Obi Wan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 08:47   #5
Registered User
 
Sulaire's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet earth
Boat: Hans Christian 41
Posts: 188
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

Instead of asking the forum try going direct to victron.

I bought the same unit and fitted it myself, they were extremely quick and helpful with all my questions, they have a very active customer service, i was impressed with their willingness to help.

Oh and i agree , fantastic bit of kit, our lives aboard have been simplified greatly by the multiplus for various reasons, enjoy.
__________________
Sulaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 08:50   #6
Registered User
 
Obi Wan's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Niceville
Boat: O'Day 34
Posts: 164
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

I did go directly to Victron for another question I had, and I was not impressed. They were far from helpful. It may have been a language issue (company is Dutch) but the guy I was communicating with seemed exasperated that what he was telling me wasn't making sense to me. He kept saying "it's in the manual" when it wasn't.
__________________
Like what you do or do what you like.
Obi Wan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 08:53   #7
Registered User
 
Sulaire's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet earth
Boat: Hans Christian 41
Posts: 188
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

Ok, sorry to hear that, i communicated purely by email wth them through their website contact , maybe try that for better response?
__________________
Sulaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 08:58   #8
Registered User
 
Obi Wan's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Niceville
Boat: O'Day 34
Posts: 164
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sulaire View Post
I bought the same unit and fitted it myself,
Maybe you know the answer to this other issue. I installed and connected it to the battery bank, connected the AC-in to my shore power connector, and connected the Blue Power Panel control panel. When I turn it all on, the panel says "wiring error" and shuts down the inverter. This is with no shore power connected to it - only the wires to the receptacle, and only the battery bank, temperature sensor, voltage sensor and control panel (on the VE Bus). No AC-out yet. Can't imagine what could be wrong as everything is connected as the manual says it is supposed to be. The Blue Power panel manual is no help.
__________________
Like what you do or do what you like.
Obi Wan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 08:58   #9
Registered User
 
Obi Wan's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Niceville
Boat: O'Day 34
Posts: 164
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sulaire View Post
Ok, sorry to hear that, i communicated purely by email wth them through their website contact , maybe try that for better response?
That's what I did.
__________________
Like what you do or do what you like.
Obi Wan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 09:17   #10
Registered User
 
Sulaire's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet earth
Boat: Hans Christian 41
Posts: 188
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

Ok, did you get the cable that lets you program the multiplus via a pc? If so at the moment you are not using the charger part of the unit as no shore power connected, it is purely an inverter.

In the set up program you can set it to inverter only or charger etc, ( same on the front of the unit ),not saying this is the answer, but if it detects no shore power it will automatically switch to inverter, if you switch it to on, i have the simple multi control, i can switch it to charger only/ off / on.

If the unit is set to charger only internally it will not revert to inverter when switched on? Hope this helps

C
__________________
Sulaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 09:22   #11
Registered User
 
artisanmach's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Anacortes, WA
Boat: Gulfstar 37 Sloop
Posts: 120
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

The Victron inverter will supplement the high start up loads while on shore power or gen set. My AC panel is split into two separate inputs after the main breaker using an AC relay that is latched only when on shore power or gen set. My high load systems are automatically locked out otherwise.
__________________
artisanmach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 09:46   #12
Registered User
 
Obi Wan's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Niceville
Boat: O'Day 34
Posts: 164
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sulaire View Post
Ok, did you get the cable that lets you program the multiplus via a pc?

C
I did not - I understood the Blue Power Panel negated the need for that. Was I wrong?
__________________
Like what you do or do what you like.
Obi Wan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 09:57   #13
Registered User
 
Sulaire's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet earth
Boat: Hans Christian 41
Posts: 188
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

I am not familiar with that panel, but a quick look, seems to suggest you can indeed use it, so take a look at how the multiplus is configured, is it as chargeronly or charger/inverter, if the former, this could be the problem,again i am not an expert so this might be a dead end...
__________________
Sulaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 14:40   #14
Registered User
 
Obi Wan's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Niceville
Boat: O'Day 34
Posts: 164
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

I did contact Victron and according to the person who answered me, he said, "Powerassist is on both outputs available."
__________________
Like what you do or do what you like.
Obi Wan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 18:37   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,603
Re: Victron Multiplus AC-out-2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obi Wan View Post
Well, it seems to me it's the opposite of the point - i.e. Victron is contradicting themselves. They say the boost function is great for things like when an air conditioner compressor kicks in, but then say put the Air Conditioner on AC-out-2 which has no boost function, apparently.
if a boat is built properly with AC and a gen the gen will be big enough to power the AC and the boost is not needed to run ac by itself

so if you are running the AC off the gen. going through port 2. and then turn on a hair dyer, toaster, mircowave. and the AC turns on and spikes. the gen can handle the AC. but not all 4. output 1 will boost and provide power to the other 3 since since all 4 might be too high for gen. and in this case the boost one line one is helping against the AC

if you gen is undersized. and you want the boost for the gen itself, and output 2 doens't boost. then it would need to go on line 1. and you'd have to be very carefull not to turn it on with no gen.

you also have to make sure the shore power input setting matches your gen.
__________________

__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Victron Multiplus compact inverter charger keepondancin Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 13-08-2013 04:49
Victron Multiplus in Parallel Fuss Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 8 23-05-2013 19:15
Victron Multiplus PC Connection svpresent Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 10-11-2010 12:07
Victron MultiPlus vs. MasterVolt Masscombi BlueSovereign Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 15 05-09-2009 19:47


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:29.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.