Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2009, 15:04   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Boat: Prout Manta 38 - Kimarah
Posts: 2
Switch Panels in Catamaran Cockpit

In need to rewire my boat since all the electrical systems are very old and pretty much a mess. The current electrical panel is tiny and there is no room to expand it in the current location.

I'm considering mounting a bank of switches in the cockpit, obviosly in a location that would not be susceptable to flooding, and a product that would be water tight. My thoughts are:

1. I hate having to go below to turn on nav lights, autopilot etc when I'm single handling in busy waters.
2. Simplfy the electrical system by distributing it about the boat (not all the wires have to come to one location.

However, most sailboats have a single electrical panel below decks. Why is this? Any thoughts or concerns?
__________________

__________________
brownhm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 15:20   #2
Registered User
 
neilpride's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: in the world
Boat: csy 44 tall rig.
Posts: 3,099
1 concern; electrical panels need to be easy to open in case off malfunction and need to be in a dry location, think about in this scenario, you are sailing in rough to heavy conditions and the cockpit is wet and miserable, the autopilot breaker is not working anymore and you need to open the panel to find whats goin on! maybe is a good idea to have in the cockpit some swichtes , but the breakers and main panel is better to keep it inside , just my opinion , i have in my cockpit a swicht for the spreaders lights and compass and cockpit light.
The idea is not so bad, just wonder to me how to fix a malfunction swicht in nasty conditions.
Cheers.
__________________

__________________
neilpride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 15:47   #3
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Tellie's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hollywood, Fl.
Boat: FP Athena 38' Poerava
Posts: 3,046
Running a few water proof switches to operate the few items you mentioned is no problem. Keeping a distribution panel in one location is going to make servicing it a lot easier.
Tellie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 16:14   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,579
Images: 240
Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, brownhm1.

Ideally, Id prefer to wire everything to a single main distribution breaker panel, at an inside location; then feed a few circuits to a cockpit switch panel, where youd have the separate switches (or breakers) for the various Nav Lights, Autopilot, & whatever (that you wish to switch from the helm).
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 09:11   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Boat: Prout Manta 38 - Kimarah
Posts: 2
thanks everyone for your input. Yes the switch panel makes sense to be fed from the central breaker.
__________________
brownhm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 10:27   #6
Writing Full-Time Since 2014
 
thinwater's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Deale, MD
Boat: PDQ Altair, 32/34
Posts: 4,332
Breakers are much more moisture sensitive than switches.

That alone would argue against having them on-deck. I can't say whether sealed breakers are available, but I bet they would be $$$. You will still have to feed this sub-panel from a large breaker on the main panel.

Though we would all like switches at the helm, the reality is we are going to turn off the breakers after each trip anyway, and we will still forget to turn them on when we leave the dock the next time! The only switch I really like at the helm is for the windlass. It is on a separate pop-up breaker that is not in the main panel. It comes off the battery, after a fuse.
__________________
Gear Testing--Engineering--Sailing

Writing full-time since 2014.
Bookstore:http://sail-delmarva.blogspot.com/20...ook-store.html
thinwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 17:44   #7
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
It is OK to have switches in the cockpit but you have to use the watertight switches. Perhaps more expensive.

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical panels, electrical system, switch panels

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Center Cockpit vs Aft Cockpit MaDouleur Monohull Sailboats 48 12-08-2017 06:56
BlueSea Dual Switch w/ ACR v. 1-2-B Switch Maddog Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 13-07-2009 15:56
Center cockpit vrs aft cockpit Panamajames Monohull Sailboats 54 24-03-2009 16:00
TV after digital switch Harriet Fishing, Recreation & Fun 6 20-01-2009 17:39
1 combi switch AnotherSailorman Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 4 23-02-2006 12:30



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.