Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-06-2012, 06:32   #1

Boat: Morgan West Indies 36
Simple Question on Charging

Hi. I just bought a S2 9.2a..not that THAT is important, and it came with a 12V Adler Barbour Refrig. Now, when I am dockside and plugged in and want the refrig on for the weekend..do I keep my A/C battery switch "on" and if so, do I keep the panel switch selected to the "house" battery, or "all" or ? It seems if I do, the batter or batteries peg way to the right when tested.
OR, do I keep the charger off and let the house battery deplete and then recharge? As you can tell, i am a newbie...
Sunyata197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2012, 06:45   #2
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Re: Simple question on charging

Run it on AC. Your batteries have a limited cycle life, you can only deplete and recharge them so many times, so using them up when there's AC available is a total waste. When the AC is on your battery test switch is showing the voltage from the battery charger, that's why it pegs all the way to high scale.
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2012, 07:37   #3

Boat: Mainship Pilot 34

Hellosailor is absolutely correct. Keep the charger plugged in. Modern shore power chargers will not harm batteries and as he said there are only so many cycles available in a deep cycle battery. Don't waste them at the dock.

David
djmarchand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2012, 07:45   #4
CF Adviser

Boat: 14 meter sloop

congratulations on the new boat.