Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-09-2009, 16:12   #1

Boat: Spindrift 43 SV Falkor
Shore Power Help

I just bought a boat and had it to a slip for the first time. I plugged in the shore power and expected the charger to turn on. It didnt.
I have a 110v master panel, I have switches labeled master, outlets, charger, and I dont remeber the other 2, and the boat is 70 miles from here.
It looks like this

Should I have to turn a switch after plugging in?
master is on.
b-rad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2009, 16:17   #2

Boat: Lagoon 37
my first question would be is there electric present at other locations, such as outlets
https://www.sailblogs.com/member/svjusdreaming/
"The only way to get a good crew is to marry one." -Eric Hiscock
JusDreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2009, 16:19   #3
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Typically, yes. The shore power cord plugs into a socket on your boat and from there runs to a GFI device and then to the 110 master switch before it runs anyplace else. If that master is off--everything should be disconnected from the 110 supply.

There's no telling what a PO did, they might have wired up a charger directly. You might have a blown fuse, a disconnected power lead, a breaker that has tripped and needs to be reset...all sorts of reasons why you got no charging. You'd need to check the wiring from the 110 socket downstream to see what's really going on.
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2009, 16:21   #4

Boat: Alden 50, Sarasota, Florida
The last time someone described this scenario to me, the input fuse was blown - I assume you checked?
S/V Illusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2009, 20:03   #5