Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2012, 06:32   #1
Registered User
 
Duke 48's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western KY
Boat: Morgan 321, BELIEVE
Posts: 203
CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

I am looking for a very low cost CAD program to use to draw out the electrical circuits aboard my boat. Recommendations appreciated.
Duke
__________________

__________________
Duke 48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 07:05   #2
Provocateur & Raconteur
 
knottybuoyz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Iroquois, Ontario
Boat: Bateau.com TW31 Modified
Posts: 3,583
Images: 87
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

I use MS Visio

Microsoft Visio 2010 - Office.com

It's not cheap though ($250)

The other CAD program I've used is Google Sketchup

Google SketchUp

It has a free basic version
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kbiii-elec-layout-planbxxx.jpg
Views:	4470
Size:	187.9 KB
ID:	35886  
__________________

__________________
Yours Aye! Rick
~^~^~^^~^~^~^~^~^~^~^~~^~^~~^~^~^^~~^~^
"It's not the boat "you built" until you've sworn at it, bled on it, sweated over it, cried beside it and then threatened to haul the POS outside and burn it!"
knottybuoyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 07:14   #3
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

Visio rulez. I also use TurboCAD which is a CAD program for people ho don't understand CAD programs, which includes me My TurboCAD license is very unclear... I used to have the source for my Turbo Pascal compiler but think is went commercial long ago.

ciao!
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 07:17   #4
mrm
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Poland, EU
Boat: crew on Bavaria 38 Cruiser
Posts: 651
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

If you like a bit old-school interface (but very usable once one gets used to it) I would recommend Xfig - available in most Linux distributions (but, afaik, predates Linux). There are some premade electrical component libraries available for Xfig too. A more recent alternative would be Dia.

Other option would be just about any vector graphics drawing program. For example Inkscape.
__________________
mrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 08:00   #5
Registered User
 
Duke 48's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western KY
Boat: Morgan 321, BELIEVE
Posts: 203
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

I have used CadStd for a long time for my mechanical line drawings, just hoping to find something that already had the electrical symbols in a library such that I could position them on the page then draw the interconnecting lines.
Duke
__________________
Duke 48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 08:18   #6
Registered User
 
red_sky's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ontario, Canukistan
Boat: CN35 - 1960 35' steel yawl
Posts: 118
Images: 1
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

LibreCAD just hit 1.0. It's FOSS
__________________
Any way the winds blows, doesn't really matter... to me
red_sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 09:04   #7
Provocateur & Raconteur
 
knottybuoyz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Iroquois, Ontario
Boat: Bateau.com TW31 Modified
Posts: 3,583
Images: 87
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

Just stumbled across this one.

yEd - Graph Editor

Can't vouch for it one way or the other though.
__________________
Yours Aye! Rick
~^~^~^^~^~^~^~^~^~^~^~~^~^~~^~^~^^~~^~^
"It's not the boat "you built" until you've sworn at it, bled on it, sweated over it, cried beside it and then threatened to haul the POS outside and burn it!"
knottybuoyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 13:37   #8
Registered User
 
Duke 48's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western KY
Boat: Morgan 321, BELIEVE
Posts: 203
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

Thanks for the recommendations. I'll give them a try.
Duke
__________________
Duke 48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 14:43   #9
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Elsewhere on the Water
Posts: 571
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

DesignCAD is occasionally on sale a Fry's for a near nothing cost.
__________________
St. Elsewhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 16:25   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Boat: Columbia 41
Posts: 522
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

Go with an older version of Autocad LT. Look on ebay. It will be inexpensive and easy enough to learn. There is an added advantage to you when you have learned it. (Make friends with an architect - you may get the software for free ) You can use it to draw other things - say new lexan windows. You can email your CAD file to the manufacturer where they input your data into their CDC machine. The CDC machine will cut your windows - or what ever - exactly as you drew it. I did this with new windows and stainless steel trim rings. The lexan came from Las Vegas and the trim rings came from N. Carolina. They fit together like a hand in a glove.
__________________
Sam Plan B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 17:43   #11
Senior Cruiser
 
hpeer's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters
Posts: 3,899
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

TurboCAD is wonderful and cheap.

You can export to AutoCAD or Microstation formats.

I have used it commercially a bunch. I'm not a cad guy, but I do my sketches and give them to the cad guys to make right.

The best thing of TurboCAD is the low learning curve and ease of use.
__________________
hpeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2012, 06:10   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

For schematics I've used and like both xcircuit and gschem.
__________________
rev412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2012, 06:23   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 702
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

There is a free "community edition" of QCAD. You can download the source code from RibbonSoft or you can find binaries for your operating system from various sources. For Windows, visit QCad binary for Windows | Free Business & Enterprise software downloads at SourceForge.net. QCAD is more than adequate for your electrical wiring diagrams.

Fabbian
__________________
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2012, 07:49   #14
Commercial Member
 
CharlieJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Boat: Gulfstar Long Range Trawler; 53'; BearBoat
Posts: 835
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

I used SmartDraw for years to develop wiring diagrams for clients. It had quirks that I was able to work with but as it became more popular for use as a presentation tool, the quirks became more difficult to accept. As my frustration level grew, I crossed over from the Dark Side and started working on a Mac. I could, and did, use SD on my emulated Windows machine on the Mac, but the quirks were bothersome and time consuming.

I then purchased TurboCad Deluxe because it was feature rich, ran on a Mac and was more AutoCad like, only to find that this program does not offer line hops. Two lines crossing, simply cross instead of one "hopping" over the other in the old school way of denoting that the two conductors that the lines represent are not electrically connected. I do understand that the more modern way of depiction is that connections between two conductors are shown as a dot. The work around would be to manually insert a filled circle at each connection. Not practical. When I spoke to TC Tech Support, they said that they would put this feature in the feature queue. So far it has not been included.

I stumbled onto the Mac based OmniGraffle Pro ($199, with a 14 day free trial), took advantage of the free trial, and found it far better than SmartDraw in my application but not as feature rich as TurboCad. It does provide line hops. There are a few quirks dealing with snapping and attachment points but, overall, I am satisfied. No affiliation, just a happy customer. OmniGraffle for Mac - Products - The Omni Group

Charlie
__________________
Charlie Johnson
JTB Marine Corporation
"The Devil is in the details and so is salvation."
CharlieJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2012, 08:04   #15
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: CAD Program for Electrical Schematics

Here's a quick & dirty schematic done in TurboCAD; I would not like to see "hops" where wires cross...

Before spending money, one should try out Visio which is the norm for professionals around where I come from

(p.s. yes I show output Neutral grounded here but always tell people not to do that )

ciao!
Nick.
__________________

__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Will Happen to Boat Pricing when Euro Is Under Par to US$ ? vegasandre Dollars & Cents 345 14-07-2015 09:25
moorings owners program jvrkmarina The Sailor's Confessional 2 06-07-2011 07:45



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.