Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2014, 03:03   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Tides and Currents

I have Open CPN version 3.2.2 on both my solid state computer and my laptop. As for the charts, I use the VisitMyHarbour chartstick containing charts for the UK and the Netherlands.
However, I fail to obtain the Tides and Currents information on the charts .
As for the currents, I added the datasets available on Flaterco.com.
Can anybody help?
__________________

__________________
everheugd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 09:12   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
Re: Tides and Currents

Would be interested to know if you have solved the issue.
__________________

__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 10:02   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Re: Tides and Currents

No, I didn't .
Would be nice if OpenCPN would give tides and currents .
__________________
everheugd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 10:06   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Re: Tides and Currents

Quote:
Originally Posted by everheugd View Post
I have Open CPN version 3.2.2 on both my solid state computer and my laptop. As for the charts, I use the VisitMyHarbour chartstick containing charts for the UK and the Netherlands.
However, I fail to obtain the Tides and Currents information on the charts .
As for the currents, I added the datasets available on Flaterco.com.
Can anybody help?
Xtide is no longer issuing regular updates for the non-free dataset, that included the Netherlands. The best to do for now, is to download the latest non-free.tcd from Flaterco's ftp site(~2011-2012). Currents are not available in these data.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 10:08   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,777
Re: Tides and Currents

Ever tried Harmonic V8 as supplementary Harmonic in OpenCPN?
See: Tidal Current Plugin For European Waters

Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 12:06   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Re: Tides and Currents

Harmonic V-8 works
Thanks to all!!
__________________
everheugd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 00:54   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
Re: Tides and Currents

Is there any update available of the Harmonic data?
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 01:32   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Re: Tides and Currents

Not that I know. I used the one given by Carcode, EV
__________________
everheugd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 02:03   #9
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,295
Re: Tides and Currents

hello Everheugd,

Quote:
Originally Posted by everheugd View Post
No, I didn't .
Would be nice if OpenCPN would give tides and currents .
If you speak french, here explanation for the TCurrent plugin of VisitMyHarbour.

VisitMyHarbour, les courants
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 10:07   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Re: Tides and Currents

Hello Gilletarom,

Thank you very much! I had already discovered the VisitMyHarbour currents (we use their chartstick too), and had installed the portable version of Open CPN next to my own version, which is indeed not practical at all.

So, your guidelines came exactly on time

I copied the tcurrent_pi.ddl in the plugin map, and the other three in teh main directory. In OpenCPN I then installed the plugin, and the yellow arrow shows up in the menu.
However, when I click on the yellow arrow, it says: No tidal data.
Nevertheless, I get the numbers and arrows on my screen (the first time there were strange numbers such as 580 (degrees). And the whole program stopped when I tried to change something in the Tidal Current Control menu.
After restarting it seems to work, but I still get the No tidal data message.

Two questions:
-did I do anything wrong?
-is it possible to have this plugin next to the V-8 harmonics? (these are practical too since they give the tides of a number of main ports.

Thanks again for replying to my post!! everheugd
__________________
everheugd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 12:41   #11
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,295
Re: Tides and Currents

Hello everheugd,

Quote:
Originally Posted by everheugd View Post
Hello Gilletarom,

Two questions:
-did I do anything wrong?
-is it possible to have this plugin next to the V-8 harmonics? (these are practical too since they give the tides of a number of main ports.
everheugd
Hello,

The use of harmonic V8 file is independent of the plugin VisitMyHarbour (VMH).
Since it seems that the French language will be known, see these three web pages:
- Mar?es, mar?gramme
- Affichage des courants
- Mar?es, Courants : Int?grer des donn?es externes

You can view the data of harmonic V8, with the usual two buttons of OpenCPN.

In addition, by installing the plugin VMH as explained in the link of my previous post, you will VMH data by clicking on the icon Plugin VMH.
But I have a doubt:
- The plugin window of VMH is she open?
- If yes, did you choose a port (in the list of ports reference) for your navigation area?

Otherwise, I do not know help you more because my PC with Tcurrent is down. So I can not do the test.

If not yet, it will send an email to VHM. To do this, make contact with them by using the "contact us" function of the website VHM.

Best regards, Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 13:22   #12
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 408
Re: Tides and Currents

Everheugd ...

As the developer behind tcurrent I would like to find out why your installation of the dll did not work.

Could you post which operating system you are using?

Thanks.

Mike
__________________
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 02:26   #13
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 408
Re: Tides and Currents

The tcurrent plugin from VisitMyHarbour (VMH) finds the tidal data for the reference ports from the standard harmonic data installed with OpenCPN (folder tcdata). It uses the port names in those tcdata files.

Harmonic V8 uses French words such as Angleterre instead of England in the port name information. If V8 has replaced the original tcdata files the tcurrent plugin will not be able to find the port - hence 'NO TIDAL DATA'.

Harmonic V8 has a lot of useful information but the V8 tidal stream (current) data is rectilinear, eg a set of 072 or 252. The VMH data is based on UKHO tidal diamond information and covers sets in all directions. This is particularly evident in areas such as the Channel Islands.

everheugd ... Could you test tcurrent by reverting to the standard OpenCPN harmonic data. If you have the unchanged VMH standalone version you could use the tcdata harmonic files from that program.

Gilletarom ... Only just seen your guide to moving the VMH plugin to a standard distribution of OpenCPN. Great work. Perhaps you could add a caution about using harmonic V8 with tcurrent.

The tcurrent plugin is available as a free trial (xxx days):

UK Tidal streams utility. Download Now, free trial. : by VisitMyHarbour [Charts for OpenCPN and Polar Navy] - VisitMyHarbour articles

Feedback is always welcome.

Mike
__________________
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 02:34   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Re: Tides and Currents

Information very useful!!

Now, I installed both tcurrent and the V-8 harmonics.
Everything seems to work within my own Open CPN version (I copied the plugin and the relevant files from the portable version offered by VMH). My operating system is Windows-7.

However: when I click on the yellow arrow, I get the mention "No tidal data".
Nevertheless, I get the window where I can choose a reference port although it looks a little bit different then in the portable version, e.g. I cannot choose anything in the menu Select High Water. But I can using the blue arrows.
What is furthermore strange is that sometimes the tidal data seem to be correct, sometimes I get tidal streams of only 0,0 or 0,1 knots where I should get higher rates. Or only very few tidal data although I have chosen Dover as the port of reference.

Anyway right now everything is perfect, despite the mention No tidal data.
__________________
everheugd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 02:38   #15
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,295
Re: Tides and Currents

Hello Mike,

Thank for this :

" Re: Tides and Currents
The tcurrent plugin from VisitMyHarbour (VMH) finds the tidal data for the reference ports from the standard harmonic data installed with OpenCPN (folder tcdata). It uses the port names in those tcdata files."

B.R. Gilletarom.
__________________

__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
current

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tides and currents. Kalinka1 OpenCPN 1 16-08-2012 12:05
OpenCPN Tides and Currents Playtime OpenCPN 7 27-01-2012 10:24
Dogs, Currents and Tides JanetGroene Families, Kids and Pets Afloat 8 07-03-2011 04:14
Tides and Currents janp391 OpenCPN 8 12-11-2009 00:48
2009 tides and currents - Maptech OSN? jackdale Navigation 16 25-01-2009 21:53



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.