Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2015, 10:40   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 847
Remote display

Just wondering what people are using to display OCPN, or other stuff running on a below deck PC, on a tablet in the cockpit?

I was using Splashtop but that requires internet to make the connection and in theory then retains the connection but in practice the connection gets lost and then your stuffed offshore .

I'm running W10 on the PC and currently have an ancient IPad.

Any alternatives to Splashtop that will connect over a local network?

Cheers
Chris
--
Http://www.tweedsworld.com


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 10:55   #2
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 571
re: Remote display

VNC will work great on the ipad

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/vnc-...352019548?mt=8
__________________

__________________
petter5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 12:59   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 847
re: Remote display

Mine's an ancient iPad though. VNC says it requires iOS 7 and above and that's not possible on my dinosaur


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 13:18   #4
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 17,062
re: Remote display

So VNC will enable an Ipad to be a remote display for a PC?
Over Wifi I assume?
Sorry, I don't truly understand
__________________
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 17:02   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 847
re: Remote display

Yes that's it, very handy but you need a local wifi router.

Chris


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 17:21   #6
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
re: Remote display

Quote:
Originally Posted by Littlechay View Post

Yes that's it, very handy but you need a local wifi router.

Chris


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
USD 1 from a local s/h store, no?

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 18:33   #7
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 571
re: Remote display

yes, correct.
__________________
petter5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 07:27   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 847
re: Remote display

That depends entirely on where you are in the world

And on your power budget of course.. 12v if you can find it so you don't have to run a wall wart and the inverter.

Cheers


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 08:00   #9
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
re: Remote display

Two pieces of (I hope good) news are:

- many routers will accept 12 Volt, even some non-12Volt routers, I have a 15Volt one here that works well on 12 Volt, well=no smoke, and there are many 12 Volt routers too: I use 12 Volt asdl s/h routers which people get "free" with asdl contracts and discard them when the contract expires,

- you can often skip the router part by simply setting up a software hotspot on your device: Win 7 and onwards and Android (no idea about iThings, sorry) now many remote displays and other software will connect to such a hotspot, this way there is not separate router onboard as one of your devices (the laptop or the mobile (tablet or phone)) acts as a virtual router.

I hope this helps you get where you want.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 14:05   #10
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 571
re: Remote display

Quote:
Originally Posted by Littlechay View Post
Yes that's it, very handy but you need a local wifi router.

Chris


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
A router is nice to have, but not requied. Basic adhock wifi networking will work fine and does not need a router. A router is really only needed if you want to access networks outside your own network, for example the internet.
__________________
petter5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 17:01   #11
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
re: Remote display

Yes. Just make sure your mobile (iPad, yes?) connects to adhoc networks. I know older Androids do not. This is why I mentioned a software AP (I am on Android).

Regards,
b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 06:13   #12
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 847
re: Remote display

Yes in principle ad hoc networks are simple but in practice often have problems with tablet/phone apps as the mostly seem crippled in some way. The only app I could find for my old iPad has 100% terrible reviews but seems to work with an internet connection . Will try with an ashore network and report back. Cheers


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 07:42   #13
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 847
Re: Remote display

Ok, success with the adhoc network. I'm using windows 10 and the option to create an adhoc network no longer exists in the network and sharing parts of the control panel but I found this

http://www.redmondpie.com/create-ad-...-10-heres-how/

Which worked perfectly. I think this method will loose the setup on reboot but I'm not sure.

Thanks all ; and I hope this helps Windows 10 users.

Chris


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 09:58   #14
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 571
Re: Remote display

If you are nor able to configura a adhock network, virtual router will do the same as a hardware router for you in a simple network: virtualrouter.codeplex.com
__________________
petter5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 10:51   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 20
Re: Remote display

I think a banana pi pro with a 7" touch screen work well in the cockpit. I am still working on the waterproof case design, but essentially you have banana pi pro + touchscreen + 12v->5v converter + USB gps + wireless keyboard mouse if you want it, with only 12V into the sealed case around the glass touchscreen. The screen is powered off the pi. The OS is a dedicated debian configured like a 'kiosk' so you just power on 12V and it comes up running opencpn with no keyboard or mouse interaction needed. It has wifi if you want a peer to peer network (or access point) and you can easily hook up rf24 radio modems if you want to wirelessly bridge AIS from serial devices.

I like the 'dedicated kiosk' style because it eliminates fiddly bits and works like a regular boat accessory: On/Off from the main switch panel.

I anyone wants to try this I have 4G disk images you can download and try on request. Also I wrote up more or less the steps to build it yourself on Debian Jessie also available upon request...
__________________

__________________
skkeith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
remote

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want To Buy: Magnum ME-RC50 remote display lucseawalker Classifieds Archive 3 12-06-2013 10:20
For Sale: Blue Sky IPN Remote Display Snows Classifieds Archive 0 15-05-2013 07:48
Furuno RD-33 remote display review by Jedi :) s/v Jedi Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 13 03-12-2012 10:46
Where to Put the Autopilot Remote / Display ? Bright Eyes Navigation 10 28-02-2010 10:07
Remote display for laptop? WindDancer Marine Electronics 9 03-05-2007 22:28



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.