Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-07-2014, 04:13   #1
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,744
Probably Stupid OpenCPN Question

I'm trying to get data from my N2K network into OpenCPN, via my Actisense NGT. The manual says expand the COM ports in Device Manager (I'm using Windows 7), note the COM port number, then select that in the "GPS" tab of the Toolbox.

I see "Actisense NGT (Com35)" in Device Manager. But this choice does not appear in the "GPS" tab menu! I see:

COM19 (that's my AIS transceiver, and that works perfectly in OpenCPN)
Garmin
NetworkGPSD

and

AIS Port (shared).


So what am I missing?
__________________

__________________
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2014, 04:51   #2
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,758
Re: Probably Stupid OpenCPN Question

What happens if you put COM35 manually?
(and which version of O are you running?)
__________________

__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2014, 06:53   #3
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post
What happens if you put COM35 manually?
(and which version of O are you running?)
I'm using 3.0.0.

I did manage to manually input COM35, but still no joy. I do see the data stream in NMEA Reader, so it's getting onto my computer. But OpenCPN doesn't see it. I have tried "show GPS/NMEA data stream window", and there's nothing there.
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2014, 06:57   #4
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,758
Re: Probably Stupid OpenCPN Question

You might want to upgrade to 3.2.2, the actual stable.
Lot of things changed in the COM part.

(And in case you want to experiment, try the actual beta - you can have the two in parallel as well)

Hubert
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2014, 07:00   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Probably Stupid OpenCPN Question

And of course make sure you are not running that NMEA reader and OpenCPN at the same time... Serial ports can't be shared


Sent from
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2014, 07:15   #6
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post
You might want to upgrade to 3.2.2, the actual stable.
Lot of things changed in the COM part.

(And in case you want experiment, try the actual beta - you can have the two in parallel as well)

Hubert
I did that - nice update.

I did notice that the "accept only sentences" box is checked by default. I unchecked, and tried playing with other parameters, but still no joy. The "NMEA debug window" is empty.
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2014, 07:20   #7
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
And of course make sure you are not running that NMEA reader and OpenCPN at the same time... Serial ports can't be shared

Sent from
Yes, thanks, I figured that out. Maybe worth checking that nothing else is using that port.
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2014, 07:49   #8
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,758
Re: Probably Stupid OpenCPN Question

COM Ports under Windows are sometimes very tricky, especially when USB to serial converters are involved.

What you might try is to shut down the PC, start it again (have a look at the the device manager as you did already).
Don't start any other program that might use the port.
Start OpenCPN and use the drop down menu from the connection tab.

If the COM port is there and you don't see any traffic assure that the correct speed is selected.

If this does not help, we will need the log file (from the last start on).

Hubert
__________________

__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid Is as Stupid Does smcauley440 The Sailor's Confessional 13 18-03-2011 03:52
Stupid, Stupid Laws Factor Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape 24 28-04-2010 21:51
A REALLY Stupid Thing Done While Doing a Stupid Thing Dick Pluta The Sailor's Confessional 31 28-04-2010 19:00



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:18.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.