Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2016, 08:56   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 656
oTidalRoute

I have been experimenting with a tidal routing plugin, using tidal current gribs.

Tested using Grib1 and Grib2 files from "bsh.de".

With Grib1, sending a json message provides the tidal current speed/direction data needed (See the screenshot). With Grib2 the json message does not seem to produce a result.

Should json messages to grib_pi (Grib 4.1) work with Grib2 files?

Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	oTidalRoute.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	184.9 KB
ID:	134904  
__________________

Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 10:41   #2
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,648
Re: oTidalRoute

hello Mike,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasbats View Post
I have been experimenting with a tidal routing plugin, using tidal current gribs.

Tested using Grib1 and Grib2 files from "bsh.de".

With Grib1, sending a json message provides the tidal current speed/direction data needed (See the screenshot). With Grib2 the json message does not seem to produce a result.

Should json messages to grib_pi (Grib 4.1) work with Grib2 files?

Mike
It's interesting. What do we need :
- From the starting point,
- From the point of arrival,
- Information wind
- From the current information,
- A feature of the boat (polar)
- Avoidance of land that could be on the path ....

And hop ...

Gilletarom
__________________

Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 05:05   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 656
Re: oTidalRoute

Notice that the gribs that do not work with the plugin do not display a Weather Table in grib_pi (Example for the English Channel/North Sea from "bsh.de" is attached). Somehow the recordset that the weather table is using (and the json message is working with???) do not have the tidal data.

As an aside I found the Weather Table (right-click menu option) has the current direction 180 degrees in error. Cursor data is correct. Flyspray item added for this:

FS#2172 - Weather Table for tidal current shows direction 180 degree in error

Mike
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Current_no.7z.pdf (270.0 KB, 28 views)
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 12:32   #4
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: charleston
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 3,501
Re: oTidalRoute

why not make the tidal current data available to the weather routing plugin?
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 18:50   #5
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: oTidalRoute

Sean, I like that idea.
Also for weather_routing_pi how about a "Report" that would should the
wind direction & magitude (vector) and current (vector) at each point along the calculated route?
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 13:10   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 656
Re: oTidalRoute

Sean,

Tidal current gribs from Index of /MyOcean and ftp://ftp.bsh.de/Stroemungsvorhersagen/grib1/hires_exp/ can be opened at the same time as other gribs for wind, pressure etc. Could these be incorporated in Weather Routing?

With oTidalRoute I am looking at a very basic electronic reincarnation of paper chartwork ... course to steer to allow for tide; calculated hourly (maintain rhumb line) or allowing for all the tidal current predicted for the passage with just one course (accept drift to port/stbd but regain final desination). At the moment I am only looking at straight lines from A to B, with an option to change the departure time to make best use of tide. Would a json message from any of these calculations be useful?

Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	current.wind.etc.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	130.2 KB
ID:	135498  
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 09:42   #7
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: charleston
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 3,501
Re: oTidalRoute

The wr plugin can just use the tidal current data then if it is in grib format once it's loaded by the grib plugin
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2017, 04:30   #8
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: oTidalRoute

Mike can you summarize. Status of your plugin and advise if WR will run and respond to those tide gribs?
I like this because tide is almost as big a factor as wind. Unfortunately or part of the world does not have these grobs.
__________________

rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
route

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.