Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2010, 07:37   #16
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Hi Mark,

thanks for your help and patience.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Psyches View Post
Gunther, it looks like some things are messed up in your build environment. It's hard to tell it all with the german language output.
I know but I couldn't get the program to output it in English.
The most important parts (Fatal Error, Syntax Error) are in English anyway. The rest doesn't really matter.

Quote:
I suggest you start with the new vcproj I gave (for 1.3.6, the old was 1.3.4), because that is the only one that is a good bet to use with the corresponding instructions.
OK, this was my fault - sorry.
I now used the one for version 1.3.6 and added (double-checked) each file manually.

Here is the result (just have a look at the errors, please):
Quote:
1>------ Erstellen gestartet: Projekt: opencpn, Konfiguration: Debug Win32 ------
1>Kompilieren...
1>s57mgr.cpp
1>f:\projekte\opencpn\opencpn-1.3.6\include\s57mgr.h(84) : error C2061: Syntaxfehler: Bezeichner 'Extent'
1>f:\projekte\opencpn\opencpn-1.3.6\src\s57mgr.cpp(331) : error C2511: 'bool s57mgr::GetChartExtent(char *,Extent *)': Überladene Memberfunktion nicht in 's57mgr' gefunden
1> f:\projekte\opencpn\opencpn-1.3.6\include\s57mgr.h(79): Siehe Deklaration von 's57mgr'
1>ddfrecordindex.cpp
1>f:\projekte\opencpn\opencpn-1.3.6\src\myiso8211\ddfrecordindex.cpp(301) : error C2065: '__pascal': nichtdeklarierter Bezeichner
1>f:\projekte\opencpn\opencpn-1.3.6\src\myiso8211\ddfrecordindex.cpp(301) : error C2146: Syntaxfehler: Fehlendes ')' vor Bezeichner 'C'
1>f:\projekte\opencpn\opencpn-1.3.6\src\myiso8211\ddfrecordindex.cpp(301) : error C2059: Syntaxfehler: ')'
1>Code wird generiert...
1>Browseinformationsdatei wird erstellt...
1>Microsoft Browse Information Maintenance-Programm Version 9.00.30729
1>Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
1>Das Buildprotokoll wurde unter "file://e:\Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\opencpn\opencpn\Debug\BuildLog.htm" gespeichert.
1>opencpn - 5 Fehler, 0 Warnung(en)
========== Erstellen: 0 erfolgreich, Fehler bei 1, 0 aktuell, 0 übersprungen ==========
If I include the new Route Manager it produces some additional errors (but that is the next step).

What is still irritating to me, is that there are several files in the source, which are not being included in VC++.
How to know which ones are needed and which not? (It would help me, to have just a list of the files which have to be included in Header Files and Source Files as simple text file.)

I'll give it another try but tomorrow (no more time today).

Thanks so far.

Gunther
__________________

__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 12:40   #17
Registered User
 
Psyches's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Tartan 30 - Bluegrass
Posts: 187
Send a message via Yahoo to Psyches Send a message via Skype™ to Psyches
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsurfer View Post
I know but I couldn't get the program to output it in English.
The most important parts (Fatal Error, Syntax Error) are in English anyway. The rest doesn't really matter.
np, we'll make do.

Quote:
OK, this was my fault - sorry.
I now used the one for version 1.3.6 and added (double-checked) each file manually.

Here is the result (just have a look at the errors, please):
If I include the new Route Manager it produces some additional errors (but that is the next step).

What is still irritating to me, is that there are several files in the source, which are not being included in VC++.
How to know which ones are needed and which not? (It would help me, to have just a list of the files which have to be included in Header Files and Source Files as simple text file.)
Well it doesn't look like you've just used the 1.3.6 vcproj; you're getting errors in s57mgr.cpp which again is not in the project.

re: extra files, I understand your irritation, I've complained as well and so have others - but they're not going away until Dave gets back and we discuss. And that's exactly why I posted the updated vcproj. If you want a list of source files, feel free to edit the proper vcproj and produce one.

Gunther, the very first disclosure in the instructions say they're for someone experienced in MSDev - if you are, you'll know what to do about minor issues like we're seeing. If you're not, I'd love to help you become experienced, but I have very limited time. I'd definitely like more helpers for building, testing, and working on win32, but the environment has barriers I cannot remove. So I guess I'll take back my "it's really easy" comment

Mark
__________________

__________________
Psyches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 05:04   #18
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Hi Mark,

you are totally right and I fully understand the points you mentioned.
There were just 2 more faults. One was the presence of 's57mgr.cpp' which I obviously missed when checking the file list. The other was that the file 'ddfrecordindex.cpp' exists twice (in 'mygdal' and 'myiso8211') and of course I got the wrong one.

And now Mark take a deep breath ... and sigh with relief!

I finally made it!

That's the good news ...
... the bad news is that I couldn't integrate the Route Manager (which was the reason for trying to compile a test version).
I posted this in Beta Test / Technical.

Thanks again for your help and patience so far.

Gunther
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 08:01   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
Hi Mark
I followed your instructions and it worked !!!
many thanks
Jean Pierre
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 08:26   #20
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Hi Jean Pierre!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ptizef View Post
I followed your instructions and it worked !!!
Have you also applied the new Route Manager?
If so, could you make your new file available for download, please?

That's where I got stuck.
I coulden't manage to apply the patch file (routemanagerdialog.patch).
No matter what I do, I can't get it to use the right path. It always try to look for the files in: /cvsroot/opencpn/opencpn

And there seem to be other path settings in some of the files which won't work either.

So if someone could help me out, or explain this to me, how to apply the patch file, that would be fine.

I'm using GNU32 Patch for Windows on Win 7 Ultimate 32Bit.

Gunther
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 10:50   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsurfer View Post
Have you also applied the new Route Manager?
If so, could you make your new file available for download, please?
Gunther
Hi Gunter
Unfortunately not , for the moment I just compiled cvs
But I am searching the files needed for the Route Manager . Could you help me ?
Thanks
Jean Pierre
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 11:07   #22
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Hi Jean Pierre!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ptizef View Post
Hi Gunter
Unfortunately not , for the moment I just compiled cvs
Same as I ...

Quote:
But I am searching the files needed for the Route Manager . Could you help me ?
Sure!
It's attached to this post: Beta Test / Technical

Good luck and much success!
Let me know when you are home and dry.

Gunther
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 13:11   #23
Registered User
 
Psyches's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Tartan 30 - Bluegrass
Posts: 187
Send a message via Yahoo to Psyches Send a message via Skype™ to Psyches
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsurfer View Post
Hi Jean Pierre!


Same as I ...


Sure!
It's attached to this post: Beta Test / Technical

Good luck and much success!
Let me know when you are home and dry.

Gunther
Jean Pierre, good that you got the build going.

Gunther (& Jean Pierre), here is the base post that explains what to do for patch:

Beta Test / Technical

I forgot to mention an important step in getting patch to work for win32 OpenCPN, and a minor tweak you'll need as well:

(1) you need to make sure and pull the cvs source with unix line-ends; I had forgotten that step. If you're using cvsnt directly, use the -kL switch during checkout. If you're using Tortoise, there is a UI - you can read this: TortoiseCVS FAQ

(2) for the patch command itself, follow Anders instructions but add the
--binary switch.

HTH

Mark
__________________
Psyches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 13:27   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
Many thanks Gunther

But my attempt to build with routemanagerdialog failed :
I got these errors :

routemanagerdialog.cpp .\src\routemanagerdialog.cpp(241) : error C2039: 'IsVisible' : n'est pas membre de 'Route' C:\Users\Jean Pierre\Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\opencpn\include\navutil.h(233) : voir la déclaration de 'Route'
.\src\routemanagerdialog.cpp(294) : error C2039: 'SetVisible' : n'est pas membre de 'Route' C:\Users\Jean Pierre\Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\opencpn\include\navutil.h(233) : voir la déclaration de 'Route'

Aquick translation : in routemanagerdialog.cpp , both IVisible and SetVisible are not member of 'Route' in navutil.h : see 'Route' declaration

I have this error for lines 241,293,294,391,393,394,460,462,515

If some body can help
Jean Pierre
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 15:08   #25
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
@Jean Pierre
Yes, the errors arrive from not having apllied the patchfile (routemanagerdialog.patch) first.

Therefore you'll need another program: Patch for Windows

Install it (just move the file 'patch.exe' somewhere to your Windows path - e.g.: C:\Windows is very often a good place).

Then create a 'patch.bat' file (wherever you like) with the following lines:
Code:
@echo off
patch -p0 < %1 --binary
pause
+ @Mark
At the next step I'm still having trouble/ problems.

Now all you should have to do to patch the files is
right-click on the 'routemangerdialog.patch' file, which should be placed within your ocpn root directory, and click on "Open with ..". Now select your patch.bat (not patch.exe!!!) and the patch process should start in a DOS-Window.

So far the theory ...

All I'm getting is



What's (still) wrong?
The file path stays/ remains the same, no matter where I move the files or from which directory I start the patch.

Gunther
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 21:41   #26
Registered User
 
Psyches's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Tartan 30 - Bluegrass
Posts: 187
Send a message via Yahoo to Psyches Send a message via Skype™ to Psyches
Gunther, as Anders original instructions says, you have to perform the patch process from within the opencpn dir. That is, do a "dir" command, and if you don't see Makefile.am in the list, you're not in the right place. As long as the rest of the cvs structure is good, the other items will get patched too.
__________________
Psyches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 02:21   #27
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 743
Hi Gunther , Mark
I've done all that you wrote but the result is ....
Probably I forgot or misunderstood something , but what ?
Regards
Jean Pierre
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cmd.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	27.0 KB
ID:	13106  
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 10:39   #28
Registered User
 
Psyches's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Tartan 30 - Bluegrass
Posts: 187
Send a message via Yahoo to Psyches Send a message via Skype™ to Psyches
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ptizef View Post
Hi Gunther , Mark
I've done all that you wrote but the result is ....
Probably I forgot or misunderstood something , but what ?
Regards
Jean Pierre
Jean Pierre, I suggest you delete the .bat file and type the patch.exe line directly - it'll be more obvious what's going on.

Mark
__________________
Psyches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:46   #29
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Hi Mark!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Psyches View Post
Gunther, as Anders original instructions says, you have to perform the patch process from within the opencpn dir.
Yes, I understood this.
I have copied the file 'routemanagerdialog.patch' to the root dir of my local opencpn files. And that's the place/ location from which I open the file.
But it seems that the path information is "not recognized/ ignored" or gets "lost" somehow, somewhere ...?
Because (as I wrote already) it makes no difference where I put the files. The path shown in the patch window is always the same (/cvsroot/opencpn/....).

Quote:
That is, do a "dir" command, and if you don't see Makefile.am in the list, you're not in the right place.
Sorry, but how to use a "dir" command on Windows?
And yes, all the Makefile.xxx files are in the same directory.

Quote:
As long as the rest of the cvs structure is good, the other items will get patched too.
Maybe yes, maybe not ...!
I'll see it when the patchfile adresses to my path (and not to any other) settings.

BTW: I do not understand what Anders means by writing
Quote:
After patching and adding the files, rerun the configure script (autoconf users) or whatever else you do, and rebuild.
?

But first I have to get over that hurdle and get this damned patch file ...

One word about the batch file. Without using patch.exe this way only an empty DOS window opens on my PC and nothing else happens (no matter what you type in the window).
But I don't think that the 3 lines of code in this file make things unclear.

Maybe Anders could give us a little help?

Gunther
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 12:08   #30
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,250
I'm not on win and can't give specific advice, but....
The screen-dump in post #25 looks very much like the "problem" I had first time on Linux.
Patch is asking for which file to patch. I this situation I simply answered : "src/routmanagerdialog.cpp". This is the last file in the error . In my case patch accepted this and continued. This happened a few more times. Once patch finished, compilation worked as expected.
So, just try to answer the questions patch comes up with and if that is successful, compile as you normally do
Worth a try!

Thomas
__________________

__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN General bdbcat OpenCPN 987 11-11-2017 07:00
OpenCPN on a Netbook wbickle OpenCPN 51 27-09-2010 16:10
OpenCPN bdbcat OpenCPN 1343 19-09-2009 16:59



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:02.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.