Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-08-2015, 10:20   #1

No GPS if laptop is charging. strange

Strange issue with new setup. I've been using opencpn for several years with a usb GPS puck on my laptop. I just installed a standard Horizon GX2200 with GPS and AIS. I set up a serial to USB cable to input the gps and AIS signal to the laptop. I did a temporary setup and it worked great. After I ran the permanent wiring i couldn't get any GPS on opencpn. After several hours of checking all connections, i pluged my old puck GPS in and it didn't work either. I decided to give up for the day and try a different laptop later. When I unplugged my 12 V laptop power supply, the GPS indicator on opencpn immediately lite up! Plug it back in and it stops.

So running on battery I get GPS and AIS working. Hook up the charger and signal is lost. NEMA debug window is blank when plugged in. Any Ideas?

Richard Hess
S/V Island Thyme
OBX, NC
sailouterbanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2015, 10:35   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Send a message via Skype™ to weavis
Re: No GPS if laptop is charging. strange

I have a dell laptop.

If I plug in the printer I lose wifi connection. I think the power connection of the usb also feeds the wifi module. Too much output and its not going to work. My usb puck also has difficulty working.

I have not tried it on battery only.... I suspect it is a similar issue.

I recently bought an Acer..... no problems.
weavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2015, 10:40   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter