Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-10-2014, 03:39   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bonaire
Boat: Shin Fa 458 Custom Cutter but looks like a Liberty 458
Posts: 346
Missing depth readings.

I just booted up Open CPN and found that all the depth markings are gone off the charts. i checked the box about showing the depths and it was checked. I unclicked it and hit "apply". Closed the program and rebooted. Checked the depth box again and hit apply. Still no go.
Next, I did a reload of the charts and hit apply. Waited for the rebuilt and checked--No depths. I unclicked and hit apply after the reload. Still nothing.
Next, I did a "force reload" for the charts. Closed the program and rebooted the computer. Re booted the program and still no depth markings on the charts.
Any suggestions? What did we do wrong?
__________________

__________________
mestrezat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2014, 03:50   #2
Registered User
 
AISEAG's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dahouet (Brittany)
Boat: BENETEAU
Posts: 407
Re: Missing depth readings.

Hello Mestrezat,

What is your OpenCPN version ? OS ?

To get soundings, 2 ways :

a) the option in the toolbox/map/vectorial map windows need to be enable.
b) by using "ctrl+S" to show/hide soundings

To reassure you, operations you have done "reload and force the charts" did not do any harm.

Can you post a screenshot of your toolbox/map/vectorial map windows

Serge
__________________

__________________
AISEAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2014, 03:51   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bonaire
Boat: Shin Fa 458 Custom Cutter but looks like a Liberty 458
Posts: 346
Re: Missing depth readings.

I found out what was wrong. Somehow, the box under "Vector Charts" that says "Depth Soundings" had gotten unchecked. Once I checked it and told it to "Apply", I was back in business.
No clue as to how it got unchecked.
__________________
mestrezat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2014, 04:12   #4
Registered User
 
AISEAG's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dahouet (Brittany)
Boat: BENETEAU
Posts: 407
Re: Missing depth readings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mestrezat View Post
I found out what was wrong. Somehow, the box under "Vector Charts" that says "Depth Soundings" had gotten unchecked. Once I checked it and told it to "Apply", I was back in business.
No clue as to how it got unchecked.
Good,

The change may have been done by the "CTL+S" shortcut.

Serge
__________________
AISEAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Depth Gauge Gives Wrong Readings, Raymarine myocean Marine Electronics 5 19-07-2013 11:37
how do you compensate your depth gauge readings sdowney717 Marine Electronics 15 20-06-2012 17:30
Odd Depth Sounder Readings S/VSkylark Construction, Maintenance & Refit 3 19-01-2010 11:54
ST60 Depth vs. ST60+ Depth Ex-Calif Marine Electronics 13 28-11-2009 23:26
Wonky depth readings form Simard IS12 witzgall Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 27-09-2009 11:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:30.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.