Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-02-2012, 23:00   #46
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubilee39 View Post
Interesting concepts, As long as you are adding comports for other signals than AIS would it be possible to add another comport to receive and display TLL from a radar at 4800 baud
+2
I can provide NMEA TLL Data Stream if required
__________________

__________________
MikeElliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2012, 10:59   #47
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

PjotrC's patch made it into the 2.6.1511 beta release.
Can anyone supply a data-stream for testing and documentation?
The VDR plugin is one way to catch such a stream.
Thomas
__________________

__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2012, 12:06   #48
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,046
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
PjotrC's patch made it into the 2.6.1511 beta release.
Can anyone supply a data-stream for testing and documentation?
The VDR plugin is one way to catch such a stream.
Thomas
Hi Thomas

I just hooked up the NMEA Out on my Icom M504, but haven't seen any traffic yet. If I capture anything I will post.

In this thread you find a couple of DCS sentences from Standard Horizon unit:
DSC Position Request - The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum


Code:
$CDDSC,20,3380210040,00,21,26,1394807410,2231,,,B,E*75
$CDDSC,20,3380210040,00,21,26,1394807410,2242,,,B,E*71
the above shows a yellow diamond in New Jersey

Here are a few strings from Uniden:
http://www.uniden.com/content/ebiz/u...ls/UM525om.pdf

Distress call :
Code:
$CDDSC,12,3081234000,,07,00,0354013946,0657,,,S,E*6D
$CDDSE,1,1,A,3081234000,00,60875646*13
This does work in opencpn, It puts a red diamond into Japan.



Dirk

PS: Edited a few times to avoid multiple posts
__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2012, 12:48   #49
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,046
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

Too late to edit my last post...

Screenshots for a DSC distress report and a DSC position report.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC-Distress-on-NGA.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	65.9 KB
ID:	38965   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC-Position-on-NGA.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	91.9 KB
ID:	38966  

__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2012, 15:28   #50
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,046
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

I am having fun with this!

I sent out a DSC Position Request to "Seaboard Caribe", they promptly acknowledged and opencpn showed the ship as a yellow diamond on the chart.

One Caveat:
Somewhere in the process the decimals of the minutes are stripped off and the position can be off, up to a mile. Most likely the problem is in my Icom M504, see a discussion here: DSC Position Request - The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

I captured the output from the Icom, it doesn't show any decimals, the problem is NOT with opencpn:
Code:
$CDDSC,20,3053500000,00,21,26,1254408004,2038,,,B,*3B
Screenshots 1: The track shows where the ship went, per AIS signal, the yellow diamond shows the position from the DSC position request/report.

Screenshot 2: "AIS" target query of the yellow diamond(=DSC position), showing the stripped decimals.

Cheers

Dirk
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	305350000-DSC.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	92.1 KB
ID:	38967   Click image for larger version

Name:	305350000-DSC-b.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	22.6 KB
ID:	38968  

__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2012, 02:19   #51
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,758
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeaseOnLife View Post
I am having fun with this!



One Caveat:
Somewhere in the process the decimals of the minutes are stripped off and the position can be off, up to a mile. Most likely the problem is in my Icom M504, see a discussion here: DSC Position Request - The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

I captured the output from the Icom, it doesn't show any decimals, the problem is NOT with opencpn:
Code:
$CDDSC,20,3053500000,00,21,26,1254408004,2038,,,B,*3B
Dirk
Dirk,

this is correct if there is just the DSC message - it does not contain seconds by definition.
In the link you quoted go to page 4:
Only the EXTENDED DSC --> DSE message will carry seconds
So to have a precise position the two sentences $CDDSC and $CDDSE are required.

Slightly awkward standard, but it is that way.

bcn
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2012, 07:12   #52
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,046
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post
Dirk,

.....
So to have a precise position the two sentences $CDDSC and $CDDSE are required.

Slightly awkward standard, but it is that way.

bcn
Got it, thanks!
__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2012, 09:21   #53
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,046
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

I tried a couple more times, my Icom M504 does not send a $CDDSE sentence on NMEA-OUT. I contacted ICOM support, lets see what they say.

The error isn't too bad: First I thought the decimals of the minutes were just cut off. But I learned, the Icom does round to the nearest minute, up or down. So the error is <=0.5 miles N/S and <=0.5 miles E/W.

Screenshot one: AIS target query at time of position report
Screenshot two: DSC target query showing the rounded lat/lon

The $CDDSC message:
Code:
$CDDSC,20,3031040000,00,21,26,1253807959,1510,,,B,*37
Dirk
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC-Icom-rounds-up-a.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	79.3 KB
ID:	38984   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC-Icom-rounds-up-b.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	60.1 KB
ID:	38985  

__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2012, 11:48   #54
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

Thanks LeaseOnLife.
I know its a bit late .....Congratulations to your circumnavigation!


I can't get the DSC icons to display on the chart. I'm using VDR, and the sentences comes up in the data stream window. No problems otherwise with VDR. I have no problem, for example, to catch an view the live data stream from San Fransisco.
Adding "DebugNMEA=500 "to the config file does not produce any extra output either
Same result on both Linux and XP.
Has anyone else tried the published sentences with the VDR plugin.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2012, 11:53   #55
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,046
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
Thanks LeaseOnLife.
I know its a bit late .....Congratulations to your circumnavigation!
Thanks! It was a bit too quick, but Greencard, and Re-entry-permit dictated a certain schedule....

Quote:

I can't get the DSC icons to display on the chart. I'm using VDR, and the sentences comes up in the data stream window. No problems otherwise with VDR. I have no problem, for example, to catch an view the live data stream from San Fransisco.
Adding "DebugNMEA=500 "to the config file does not produce any extra output either
Same result on both Linux and XP.
Has anyone else tried the published sentences with the VDR plugin.

Thomas
Can't comment on VDR. I am using NavMonPc, it multiplexes several inputs, creates virtual comm ports for output, which feeds it to OpenCPN. With NavMonPc I can play a text file and merge it with the live stream.

Besides this, there might be a bug I am trying to hunt down. When a (DSC??)-target has expired the first time, it never shows up again, until OpenCPN is restarted ?!?

Dirk
__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2012, 12:11   #56
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,046
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

Thomas

attached is the text file I am feeding to OpenCPN, via NavMonPc:

It shows a distress call in Japan, a boat in New Jersey and two ships out of Miami.

You probably have to tweak the file for VDR to have timestamps ?!?

Dirk
Attached Files
File Type: txt DSC-Dirk-all-01.txt (322 Bytes, 57 views)
__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2012, 12:47   #57
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,046
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

Bughunting days....

Thomas and all

Bug 1: The GPS/NMEA data stream windows does not show AIS or DSC messages

Bug 2: The VDR recorder uses the same basic file format, no time stamp, but it does seem to filter out messages when re-playing a file. When I play a mixed AIS and DSC file via NavMonPc to OpenCPN, it works. When I do the same via the VDR, only the AIS targets show up.

Bug 3: After DSC targets have expired once, (disappeared from the chart), they don't show up a second time, after playing the same file. Usually. I say usually, because sometimes they do....

Can anyone confirm ?

Dirk
__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2012, 13:04   #58
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

LeaseOnLife

Your file is much the same as I have tried.
I do get the dsc data stream in the GPS/Nmea window.

Click image for larger version

Name:	chart-tab_2.png
Views:	85
Size:	14.4 KB
ID:	38990

VDR is probably not geared up to handle DSC sentences (yet!).

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2012, 13:32   #59
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,046
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
LeaseOnLife

Your file is much the same as I have tried.
I do get the dsc data stream in the GPS/Nmea window.

VDR is probably not geared up to handle DSC sentences (yet!).

Thomas
I stand corrected, the file played via VDR does show CDDSC messages in the GPS/NMEA window, but still no targets on the screen. AIS messages don't show up in the GPS/NMEA window, but do show up as targets.

Weird!

Dirk
__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2012, 02:29   #60
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Normandy, France
Boat: Flush Poker, 8.25m (Point Barre)
Posts: 335
Re: How Do I Overlay DSC Waypoints / Track Buddy

Hi,

There's no filtering in the VDR plugin.
AIS vs GPS filtering is done in PushNMEABuffer() in src/pluginmanager.cpp:1934

I'm just booting my laptop, I'll provide a patch in a minute.

Jean-Eudes
__________________

__________________
SethDart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dsc

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radar / Chartplotter - Overlay vs Parallel truant Navigation 7 23-08-2010 21:49
Satellite Image Overlay with Grib Files Uhambo OpenCPN 0 02-08-2010 07:53
Chart Overlay Google Earth Question David M Navigation 18 19-06-2010 03:31
Newbie Impressions of Radar Overlay (Raymarine c80) Northeaster Marine Electronics 0 06-07-2009 07:06



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:39.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.