Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2016, 17:49   #1

Gribs

Hi im new to open cpn and the gribs im uploading from the auto email... Sailgrib? Seem very un detailed and inaccurate. Im up in in lake tahoe and it was blowing 20+ today and the grib showed 6., and the grib only showed one wind arrow for the whole lake. I tried changing settings for greater detail but it didnt help. Is open cpn always this inaccurate? Thx
ynotjude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 17:56   #2

Re: Gribs

I should add that some peoples gribs in open cpn look more detailed and their sustem seems more setup. Should i get my gribs some place else?
Old 11-09-2016, 18:09   #3

Location: On board Sarah, currently lying in Jacksonville, FL
Boat: Pearson, 424, 42', Sarah

Not familiar with Sailgrib, but it should provide the means to specify the desity of the data points. The more dense the points the larger the download file and the longer the download period. Sounds like your download is set for a fast download rather than a detailed forecast.
That said, I've only used GRIBS for sealevel wind forecasts.

John
jstevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 18:38   #4

Boat: Phantom 19

ynotjude...
The resolution of the gribs depends mostly on the model used. If you are downloading data from the most widely used GFS model created by NOAA, it likely has the default resolution of 0.5 degrees (1 degree equals to 60 nautical miles as we know from the books). It means that on Lake Tahoe, being about 20x10 miles, there is, if we are lucky, exactly 1 point calculated by the model and it is highly unlikely local geography around it is taken into account much.