Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2011, 01:00   #196
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,020
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
Pavel/Paul

As I suggested earlier,why not use a right click drop down box for present and future facilities and leave the GE map area clean?
Would nice but is not possible - on the GE view, the mouse events go to GE directly, not to the plugin.

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 01:07   #197
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,020
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
I see what you mean, the saved JPG does have both the buttons and some other junk below it. If I used that JPG in GE2KAP, I wouldn't be able to tell where the actual GE picture ended.

Pavel, can you save just the GE picture?
Working on it, but it's a little bit more complicated than it might seem. The buttons are there because they overlap the bottom part of the GE viewport (on some systems, not mine - depends on the visual theme you use for Windows and if you turned off the GE toolbar or not). Unfortunately I must resize the whole GE window - including the parts that are not even displayed to get the right size of the view - because of that you have to turn off the sidebar and toolbar of ge and because of that the problem we see here...

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 05:49   #198
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Pavel..

Sorry if I am stating the obvious,but,could we not make use of the GE keys?
To save a .jpg: Ctrl+Alt+S
To save in klm: Ctrl+S

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 07:43   #199
Registered User
 
BluegillBoy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago summers, gulf during winters
Boat: Endeavour TrawlerCat 36 - My Bluegill Heaven
Posts: 158
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltasig View Post
Congratulations on the great work so far.
I managed couple of times to get the GE plugin window to stay within the OpenCPN window and have the two show the same area; I don't know how I did it but I can't do it again What's the trick?
You might be referring to docking the plugin window. Grab the top of the GE window with a left mouse click held down and drag the GE window way to the left - it locks/docks in place - then both windows are in synch and your location is in the middle of each window.

It's a little touchy (doesn't always doc on first try) and seems to be dependent on the size the GE window is before docking.

If you dock with a GE window smaller in height than the area between the OCPN tool bar and the bottom bar showing the quilted charts, it will dock leaving the bottom charts bar full width. If you enlarge the GE window to be the same height as the chart portion between the top and bottom OCPN tool bars before docking, then it docks larger and the bottom chart tool bar only runs as wide as the OCPN chart.

To undock, just grab the top of the GE window and pull it to the right.

Is that what you were looking for?

PS - docking works with other plugins as well.
__________________
BluegillBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 12:22   #200
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Pavel.. #197

I am using GE plugin v. 0.3 and OpenCPN 2.4.324 which is working perfectly for me on Vista. By dragging the top frame of the initial GE screen,I can enlarge the display to cover the entire screen so the save options at the bottom only have a barely visible top edge,necessary to effect the saving process.

I now select 'Save .JPG' and minimize the GE display without disturbing it further and execute GE2KAP which collects the geo references from GE and creates the .kap map from the saved .jpg file.

You now have a calibrated GE map without a visible white bottom border.

The created 'charts' are no substitute for regular nautical charts but serves as valuable extra information of ports you intend to visit. They are also handy when no other charts are available.

For me,this is now working perfectly and also very quickly.

Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_01 Apr. 11 15.24.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	325.5 KB
ID:	26031  
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 14:18   #201
Registered User
 
BluegillBoy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago summers, gulf during winters
Boat: Endeavour TrawlerCat 36 - My Bluegill Heaven
Posts: 158
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Lovin V0.3!

one thing I see is in the preferences window, some lines of text overlay others. see attached screen grab. also, when going to save as JPG, the dialogue window says "open" when it means "save". little thing - the feature works!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pref screen.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	26033  
__________________
BluegillBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 17:34   #202
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Google Earth Plugin

BluegillBoy..

I don't see the overlapping text error in my Vista version 0.3.

Just another tip. Often the selected GE area has a bad cloud coverage. In this case,save the image in .kml format. Exit from OpenCPN and execute the .kml file which will start GE in the area selected. Use the 'Historical imagery' to select views from earlier years which may be better and save in .jpg format. Hold the GE view but you may use a graphic editor to enhance the saved .jpg file without changing it¨s size.
Finally,execute GE2KAP which will create your .kap chart.

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2011, 10:13   #203
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto,SE Florida, East Med
Boat: Dehler, Cruising 41 - BEBECA
Posts: 47
Send a message via Skype™ to deltasig
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Sinbad7,
Thank you for all the tips and tricks about GE. I've been using GE for a very long time and never got past the obvious features. I learned more about it trying to use it with OpenCPN than at any time before.

BluegillBoy,
Thank you for the docking tip. I must have stumbled on it when I was trying to reposition the GE screen.

I use the Mapsource product for planing purposes and have 2 GPSMAP units (a fixed and a portable). I found the ability to view (and if finalized, save) a WP or a route from Mapsource on GE by clicking on View-GE very useful. I understand there is a way with OCPN to do the same but I didn't find it yet !

Any pointers, greatly appreciated.
__________________
deltasig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2011, 10:34   #204
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Hi all..

How do you write a batch file to execute the following:??

Quote:
@ECHO OFF
REM - AUTOMATING GE PLUGIN WITH GE2KAP
:BEGIN
CLS
START D:\PROGRAM FILES\KML WRITER\Balboa.kml
TYPE NUL | CHOICE.COM /N /CY /TY,20 >NUL (wait 20 seconds)
SAVE D:\PROGRAM FILES\GE2KAP\Balboa.jpg (CTRL ALT S in Google Earth)
TYPE NUL | CHOICE.COM /N /CY /TY,20 >NUL (wait 6 seconds)
START D:\PROGRAM FILES\GE2KAP\GE2KAP.rex
:END
Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2011, 10:40   #205
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,020
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltasig View Post
I use the Mapsource product for planing purposes and have 2 GPSMAP units (a fixed and a portable). I found the ability to view (and if finalized, save) a WP or a route from Mapsource on GE by clicking on View-GE very useful. I understand there is a way with OCPN to do the same but I didn't find it yet !

Any pointers, greatly appreciated.
Export as GPX from OpenCPN's routemanager and then open the exported file in GE.
When the API for plugins will be extended with access to the navobjects, the plugin will do it without this manual step.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2011, 11:06   #206
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto,SE Florida, East Med
Boat: Dehler, Cruising 41 - BEBECA
Posts: 47
Send a message via Skype™ to deltasig
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Pavel,
Thank you for the tip. After trying it, I find that the time slider appears due to <time> entries. Is this a requested feature (?!) and is there an option not to export the <time>?
Also, do I understand correctly that the discrepancy between the route line on the CM93 and GE is due to some problem with the beta version of OpenCPN?
__________________
deltasig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2011, 11:24   #207
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,020
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltasig View Post
Thank you for the tip. After trying it, I find that the time slider appears due to <time> entries. Is this a requested feature (?!) and is there an option not to export the <time>?
Yes, it is definitely a feature request for GE authors. And you are not the only person having this request As they usually don't care at all what we want GE to do, someone already wrote a tool to remove time from GPX - more about it and a link at Removing Time Data Out Of A GPX Or KML File To Make It Work Right In Google Earth
Quote:
Also, do I understand correctly that the discrepancy between the route line on the CM93 and GE is due to some problem with the beta version of OpenCPN?
Yes you understand correctly, should be fixed in 2.4.412 released a while ago.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2011, 18:08   #208
Registered User
 
manimaul's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 416
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Pavel,

I've linked many of your published plugins on the PlugIns | Official OpenCPN Homepage page. It would be great if you could update your plugins on this page when possible. Please email or PM me if you need FTP access etc.

Will
__________________
Marine Navigation for Android:
http://mxmariner.com
manimaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2011, 01:48   #209
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,020
Re: Google Earth Plugin

Will...
Thanks a lot, that page looked a bit abandoned lately

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2011, 11:10   #210
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,296
Re: Google Earth Plugin : display with 2.4.412

Hello,

ASUS W XP SP3, 10' 2.4.412 and plug-in GE

1° When I click for turn on plug-in GE in the toolbox, a white window is openned. But, GE do not run.

See attach file

2° When i use the icon of GE in the iconbar, GE run correctly.

BUT

If I docked the window of GE, there is a problem of refresh with 2.4.412.

See attach file
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-04-17_Turning_on_Plug-in_GE.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	43.2 KB
ID:	26257   Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-04-17_Problem_of_refresh.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	161.2 KB
ID:	26258  

__________________

__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
google earth

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Earth ? phiggins Navigation 53 31-03-2012 21:39
Editing in Google Earth sinbad7 OpenCPN 5 16-02-2011 16:10
Google Earth beau Navigation 1 24-07-2010 03:10
Turkey Blocks Google Earth & Google Maps MarkJ Europe & Mediterranean 7 04-07-2010 13:30



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:46.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.