Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-09-2012, 09:26   #886
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,423
Re: Beta Test / Technical

I'm using the present Beta...so that's why I post here. But it's not a critical fix or bug.

now, here's an oddment but the new menus ...how to explain?- Right-click anywhere on your chart- you could type "c" and highlight Chart Position and then RightArrow and then type "d" or "c" ...etc. as per usual Winblows usage, the first letter is the shortcut.
well, These work! I don't think they did work as well before in earlier versions. I think that it's a handy tool that I am pleased to see! Of course, it doesn't work when there are 2 first letters the same... hmm.
It follows, that when the first letter can't be used, another one is that doesn't conflict.
So it follows that to save the user guessing ,(another tiny bch) these "should be" underlined in Windows when Windows is set to show the underlining.

I'm likely the only one left that still sets things up this way and maybe it has been changed since XP.
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2012, 08:07   #887
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Hello. This message for OpenCPN programmers.
I have discover source code and (how it's seems to me) found some mistakes that may lead to crash the executing program.

1. In many places there is next code:

strncpy( buf, value.mb_str(), vallen );

In same time wxWidgets documentation says:
wxString::mb_str() converts the string to the encoding used by the current locale and so CAN RETURN AN EMPTY STRING (NULL) if the string contains characters not representable in it.

I'm using russian S57 charts and program raise access violation error at address 00000000 in strncpy.

2. Source file gshhs.cpp. Constructor:

Projection::Projection()

doesn't initialize class members W, H, XC, CY, xW and others. Calling Projection::updateBoundaries() (from Projection::SetScale) raise floating point overflow error at

...atan( exp( (double) ( degToRad( PY - H / ( 2 * scale ) ) )...

because H does not defined.

3. Source file mygeom.cpp. Method PolyTessGeo::PolyTessGeoTri.

Variable ntpa is calculated and geoPt allocated:

pt *geoPt = (pt*)malloc((npta + 1) * sizeof(pt));

Then not all pt will be assigned because of

if((fabs(x-x0) > EQUAL_EPS) || (fabs(y-y0) > EQUAL_EPS))
{
ppt->x = x;
ppt->y = y;

ppt++;
}
else
cntr[0]--;

and later the for-loop:

for(ip = 1 ; ip < npta + 1 ; ip++)
{
if(TESS_HORZ == tess_orient)
{
ty = geoPt[ip].y;
tx = geoPt[ip].x;
}
...

will raise floating point error.

Thanks for attention. Serge Gavrilov (aka AltMonk).
AltMonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2012, 13:12   #888
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 31
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
dweller

Please test version 3.1.915. Check if your problem ha gone.
Some changes, possibly affecting your problem, are included.
If your problem isn't solved, I'll enter it in the tracker.
Hopefully it can be sorted out before the next stable release!

Thomas
When I download and try the 3.1.915, I get an error message: failure to initialize user interface. So, the version will not open at all.

Ron
dweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2012, 13:43   #889
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Quote:
Originally Posted by dweller View Post
When I download and try the 3.1.915, I get an error message: failure to initialize user interface. So, the version will not open at all.
Sounds like you're on Mac. In the beta threads you can see that that was a problem on 3.1.915, and one of the reasons for 3.1.919 to be released instead. But nobody has done a Mac build for 3.1.919 yet I am afraid...
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2012, 10:23   #890
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Re: Beta Test / Technical

OK ANYONE KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT OPENCPN I HAVE DOWNLODED EVERY VERSTION BUT ITS NOT WORKING ILL START IT AND WITH IN 1 MINIT I GET NOT RESPONDING
mikepeter451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2012, 10:54   #891
Registered User
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,731
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Serious fault in Route Manager which crashes OpenCPN when trying to convert Track to Route. Win 7.

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2012, 16:50   #892
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Boat: Journeyman
Posts: 705
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
Serious fault in Route Manager which crashes OpenCPN when trying to convert Track to Route. Win 7.
That gets fixed automatically as a byproduct of the new tracking code coming for next beta.
JesperWe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2012, 19:55   #893
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,401
Re: Beta Test / Technical

mikepeter451...

Please don't shout.
We tend to automatically ignore posts written in all upper case.

However, we know lots about OpenCPN. Calmly tell us what system you are running, and what happens in detail when you start OpenCPN.

Thanks
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2012, 20:27   #894
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Re: Beta Test / Technical

ok when i start open cpn it runs good for a bit .ill add my charts bsb/kap/and cm92s
eather it will stop working when im adding charts or when im trying to nav aroung the charts im worknig with windows 7 32 bit but sooner or later it will stop and i get a not responding in the past like 2 months ago it was fine i dont understand this iv downloaded all the opencpn i have tryed the beta and the others but all of them do the same thing
mikepeter451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2012, 01:15   #895
Registered User
 
spiv's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Circumnavigating, currently in Turkey
Boat: Ex Salina 48, now Lagoon 380
Posts: 402
Send a message via Skype™ to spiv
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Hi everyone,

been running OpenCPN for two years now, great program, thank you!

In a couple of occasion and for no apparent reason, the toolbox opens minimized and there is no way to restore it to the right size (see screenshot).

Right clicking it, dragging etc, nothing works, the only solution I found was to close OpenCPN and restart it.

Is this a known bug?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OPCPN toolbox bug.jpg
Views:	180
Size:	109.6 KB
ID:	48449  
__________________
Keep smiling
Stefano - WhatsApp: +61478916411
Web: https://learn2sailcats.com/
spiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2012, 12:42   #896
Registered User
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,731
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: Beta Test / Technical

A BIG shortcoming with OpenCPN is that the track of a previous trip can not be exported
or copied with ALL the data displayed in the Track Properties window.
All that is saved are the date/time,WPT # and lat/lon. Furthermore,there is no way to export/import a Track in .kml format.

All other navigation software saves ALL the details of a past Track for re-study and
use at a later time.

If you right click the first line of the data listing in the Track Properties panel,you can
copy ALL the data in the panel and paste it to OpenOffice in landscape format.

Strange why it has not been included????

Tore
Attached Files
File Type: doc Avatar-REFENO XXIV.doc (42.5 KB, 63 views)
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2012, 22:08   #897
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Onboard, currently cruising in SE Asia
Boat: St. Francis 44 Mk II (Catamaran)
Posts: 181
Send a message via Skype™ to SoggyPaws
Re: Beta Test / Technical

May be reported already in one of the 60!! pages. But just in case not, crash very repeatable on my system...

OpenCPN beta 3.1.919, on Win XP SP3, serial port configured, but no (USB) serial port there. Charts config'd CM93v2 and a few raster charts.

All I do is add a new route, just 3 waypoints, then delete the route (right click, Route, Delete Route). Crashes every time when I exit the program.

If I add the route, exit the program, start it back up, and delete the route, exit the program, no crash. Something about creating a route and then immediately deleting it seems to be causing the crash on exit. If you need a crash dump let me know.
SoggyPaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2012, 01:53   #898
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Helsingborg
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,891
Re: Beta Test / Technical

SoggyPaws
Thanks for reporting.
This bug is already fixed in the master, https://github.com/OpenCPN/OpenCPN/commits/master
See this fix
https://github.com/OpenCPN/OpenCPN/c...78c2bd7236f922

Bug reporting for 3.1.919 is getting real messy. This forum is good for
discussions, but not for bug reporting.
The original thread about 3.1.919 is here http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...sed-89404.html

Thomas
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 11:09   #899
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Morbihan Brittany France
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 37
Posts: 65
Proposed patch for beter GPS device selection

I wanted to propose a patch for devices selection, but pushed it the wrong thread.

Not willing to do an even bigger error with a cross post. I only push the link here: http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...ml#post1073018
fulup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2012, 08:43   #900
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,205
Re: Beta Test / Technical

Good day,

Compiled 3.0.2 without problems but there is a difficulty with 3.1.xxx.

Cmake-gui and VSE 2010 were used to set things up.

When I try to build in VSE I get the following error:

1>------ Build started: Project: opencpn, Configuration: Release Win32 ------
1> Building Custom Rule C:/OpenCPN/CMakeLists.txt
1> CMake does not need to re-run because C:\OpenCPN\build\CMakeFiles\generate.stamp is up-to-date.
1>C:\Program Files\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\Microsoft.CppBuil d.targets(714,5): error MSB3191: Unable to create directory "C:\OpenCPN\build\Release\C:". The given path's format is not supported.
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ====

Can anyone advise why the incorrect path is appearing?

Many thanks.

Mike
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta Marine Diesel michaelmrc Engines and Propulsion Systems 48 23-03-2016 13:44
Need some technical advice....antennas. Just a Tinch Marine Electronics 15 01-12-2007 15:57
Blue Sea Systems Technical Brief GordMay Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 16-03-2007 04:16
technical difficulties witchcraft The Sailor's Confessional 1 30-05-2005 14:09
Dow Corning Technical Manual GordMay The Library 0 12-04-2005 16:25

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.