Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2012, 16:51   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Boat: 1975 Dufour 31
Posts: 273
Wind Instrument cockpit mounted?

Do they have any wind instruments that you do not need a tranducer mounted on the mast? Any brand names or links would be appreciated?

Thanks!
-Aaron
__________________

__________________
AirBoyzT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 16:58   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 104
Re: Wind Instrument cockpit mounted?

Raymarine ST40 Rotavecta is seen many times installed in cockpit area, you can tell in the display where it is installed (mast or cockpit) configure wise. you can use the Rotavecta windvane as well with ST60 Raymarine display, because it has connectors for it.It is an analog display, as opposed to alfanumeric one in ST40. more expensive too. good luck.
__________________

__________________
alex2035 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 17:00   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Boat: 1975 Dufour 31
Posts: 273
Re: Wind Instrument cockpit mounted?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alex2035 View Post
Raymarine ST40 Rotavecta is seen many times installed in cockpit area, you can tell in the display where it is installed (mast or cockpit) configure wise. you can use the Rotavecta windvane as well with ST60 Raymarine display, because it has connectors for it.It is an analog display, as opposed to alfanumeric one in ST40. more expensive too. good luck.
Does the ST40 require a sensor on top of the mast though?

EDIT: So the Rotavecta can be in the cockpit area, stern of the boat etc. and does not have to be on the mast?
__________________
AirBoyzT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 17:08   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 104
Re: Wind Instrument cockpit mounted?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AirBoyzT View Post
Does the ST40 require a sensor on top of the mast though?
nope, the sensor IS the Rotavecta part, you can put that anywhere in the cockpit, you tell the software where it is installed, to acommodate its idiosincracies. (not the same wind at top than at cockpit level you see.

that Rotavecta sensor can go with the ST60 display if you like analog display and can afford the price (analog=real pointer)

in short, ST40 and ST60 wind instruments are the displays, Rotavecta is the windvane which can go anywhere you need and it is seen frequently in sailboats on cockpit, mostly from my experience (Raymarine Tech) on blue water sailboats, used sort of a backup for the top vane (in case it gets blown away, which can happen). and used in motorcruisers as well, on flybridges, aside radar domes, or sattelite things.

and YES to last minute question, it doesnt need to be at the mast.

EDIT: take a look at it at raymarine site, I havent told U how it looks, unlike a "common" windvane, this thing is sort of a little pole with a rotating caps at the top, with one of them with a specialdesign which through a clever software/hardware thing, sorts the direction of the wind blowing. (more easy to see it than to explain it, I am afraid, hope you get the idea.
__________________
alex2035 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 17:18   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Boat: 1975 Dufour 31
Posts: 273
Re: Wind Instrument cockpit mounted?

Appreciate it Alex!
__________________
AirBoyzT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 19:11   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 11,447
Re: Wind Instrument cockpit mounted?

FWIW,

You can mount the sensor from ANY wind instrument anywhere you want it. The reason that most folks put them at the masthead is the wind is less disturbed by the boat up there. A wind instrument in the cockpit area will give a distorted and inaccurate measurement of true conditions. Ain't no way that clever software can know about the eddies and lees formed by YOUR dodger, davits, solar panels, weathercloths etc.

In short, there is little to recommend placing the sensor (whether Rotavector, conventional vane+anemometer cups, or AirMarine solid state) in the lower parts of the boat, for the info will be false.

Cheers,

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II , lying Port Cygnet, Tasmania once again
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 19:17   #7
Registered User
 
Ziggy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S., Northeast
Boat: Contessa 32
Posts: 1,421
Images: 2
Re: Wind Instrument cockpit mounted?

If you want a wind instrument in the cockpit, you should consider an ultrasonic sensor like the Maretron WSO100 or Airmar. The reason most wind sensors are mounted on the mast, by the way, is that there are no obstructions, turbulence is reduced, and the wind direction and speed readings are more accurate than in the cockpit.
__________________

__________________
... He knows the chart is not the sea.
-- Philip Booth, Chart 1203
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cockpit, wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.