Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2013, 17:53   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
River Cruiser's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UMR mm 283 /winter in Kansas
Boat: Bayliner 3870 41' oal.
Posts: 817
Transducer & Standard Horizon question

I have a Airmar tri-data thru hull transducer that was used with my old 235 garmin. I'am now using a Standard Horizon cp300i, can I use this transducer with the SH ff520 box on the cp300i? Even if I can't get sow or water temp I would be all right. Any help or information appreciated.
__________________

__________________
River Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 18:09   #2
Registered User
 
brankin's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Boat: Endeavour 43
Posts: 232
Re: Transducer & Standard Horizon question

It uses the p79 transducer which shoots through the hull ( mine is 2" thick) and you can find them cheap on ebay. Here is what I bought for $40 and it works great with my cpf180i
Airmar P79 in Hull Transducer Free Shipping | eBay

http://www.airmartechnology.com/uplo...ges/cat_99.pdf
__________________

__________________
brankin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 18:36   #3
Registered User
 
Ziggy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S., Northeast
Boat: Contessa 32
Posts: 1,421
Images: 2
Re: Transducer & Standard Horizon question

Quote:
Originally Posted by River Cruiser View Post
I have a Airmar tri-data thru hull transducer that was used with my old 235 garmin. I'am now using a Standard Horizon cp300i, can I use this transducer with the SH ff520 box on the cp300i? Even if I can't get sow or water temp I would be all right. Any help or information appreciated.
The transducers are the same, only the cables are different. Call or email the folks at gemeco and they will tell you what you need. But it might be less expensive to just get a transducer for SH on ebay, as was suggested by another poster.
__________________
... He knows the chart is not the sea.
-- Philip Booth, Chart 1203
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 19:34   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
River Cruiser's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UMR mm 283 /winter in Kansas
Boat: Bayliner 3870 41' oal.
Posts: 817
Thank you for the link, I've got 3 thru hull transducers now. 1 for a interphase at the upper helm the Airmar also going to the upper & 1 for a digital lowrance at the lower. Being that the Airmar is not being used I would go ahead and use it with the cp300i. I didn't want to buy the ff520 black box if it can't be done.
__________________
River Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.