Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2019, 08:08   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: New Orleans
Boat: Capital Yachts Newport 28-2
Posts: 6
ST40 / Airmar Speed Transducer Not Working

I have a bit of a strange problem with my new (to me) boat's speed transducer. The temperature and depth readouts work just fine, but the speed always reads 0.00 knots.

I assumed it was fouled, so yesterday I removed and cleaned the paddle wheel. I was surprised that it wasn't very dirty. The paddle wheel spun freely, and I tried to test it by spinning and watching the readout, but it still displayed 0.00.

My next idea was to check the electrical connections, but I was disappointed to find that one of the prior owners installed the ST40 bidata display in a way that's nearly impossible to service. The back side of the panel is blocked by the installation of an aftermarket wall that covers an A/C unit (and possibly the A/C unit itself blocks access).

I thought I would reach out and see if anyone has experience with continuity / electrical problems with airman paddle wheels on ST40 displays. I thought it would read -.-- or something along those lines if there wasn't a signal.

Is it likely that the transducer itself failed (while still able to spin freely)? Can it be replaced by splicing a new unit into the existing wire?

Thanks for the help!
SolNola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 09:03   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 35,372
Images: 241
Re: ST40 / Airmar Speed Transducer Not Working

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, SolNola.

Go to ➥ Testing Knot-Log Speed Instrument
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2019, 17:19   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: New Orleans
Boat: Capital Yachts Newport 28-2
Posts: 6
Re: ST40 / Airmar Speed Transducer Not Working

Quote:
Originally Posted by GordMay View Post
Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, SolNola.

Go to ➥ Testing Knot-Log Speed Instrument

Interesting. Thanks for the write up. Do you know if there's a way to remove the ST40 instrument without access to the rear?
SolNola is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airmar ST850 Speed Transducer svenskflicka Marine Electronics 3 13-05-2019 06:41
New Airmar Ultrasonic Speed Transducer Dockhead Marine Electronics 4 08-04-2019 13:53
Airmar Ultrasonic Speed Transducer? Dockhead Marine Electronics 13 28-08-2016 16:01
Caution: Airmar P58 depth/speed/temperature transducer failures Cpt Pat Marine Electronics 2 20-09-2015 10:59
For Sale: Airmar/Raymarine ST-60 Speed/Temperature Transducer Paul L Classifieds Archive 4 23-01-2013 06:27



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.