Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 3.67 average. Display Modes
Old 04-05-2013, 20:27   #1231
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 112
Re: Long-Distance WiFi Device

already called them, an N-version is on the way, as is 4G.
__________________

__________________
Singleprop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 20:35   #1232
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,056
Re: Long-Distance WiFi Device

4G will forever be problematic. In the US it can mean HSDPA+, or one of several (at least 3) incompatible 4G-LTE versions, so when you buy "4G" equipment for the US market, you're locked into your own carrier, unless they're going to make some incredibly ver$atile equipment.

What did they say about price, if anyplace will sell to the US market?
__________________

__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 09:48   #1233
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Ok guys, help me out here. After reading this thread and much research I have installed a Ubiquity M2 bullet with an 8 db antenna. I've got it all hooked up to my laptop and can Access the AirOs utility. I can also see in the tools all the networks the bullet is seeing.
How do I connect to one of the networks to get on the Internet? I'm sure I'm missing something very basic. I'm running Windows 7.
__________________
Adalton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 09:54   #1234
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 127
Re: Long-Distance WiFi Device

Click the the signal you want then click SELECT at the bottom. You will return to the Wireless Screen. Click CHANGE down at the bottom and a bar appears at the top asking you to apply or discard. Click APPLY and it should connect. It may ask for a key if the signal is protected. Return to the main screen and check the signal strength bar.

A lot of first timers forget to click the apply button.
__________________
Gashmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 12:17   #1235
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Where do I select the signal I want? In the site survey tool I can see them, but there's no way to select one.
__________________
Adalton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 14:48   #1236
Marine Service Provider
 
W32PAMELA's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Boat: Westsail 32 - Pamela
Posts: 270
Re: Long-Distance WiFi Device

Go to the Wireless tab and use the "Select" button to do the site survey. The "Site Survey" in the Tools menu is informational only.

In the scan window click the radio button to the left of the station you want to connect to then click "Change" and "Apply" on the Wireless tab. It takes about 12-15 seconds to complete the "apply".
__________________
Bob Stewart
W32PAMELA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2013, 19:00   #1237
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Thank you guys for your help. I did find the select button and was able to connect to a wireless network. I still can't get on the Internet with the laptop on the network, but I think that's a Windows networking problem. I have a friend who is going to look at it this week.
__________________
Adalton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 05:57   #1238
Marine Service Provider
 
W32PAMELA's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Boat: Westsail 32 - Pamela
Posts: 270
Re: Long-Distance WiFi Device

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adalton View Post
... I still can't get on the Internet with the laptop on the network, but I think that's a Windows networking problem....
If you can get to the AirOS pages then your problem is not a windows problem but a Bullet configuration problem.

Your computer LAN should be set to "Obtain IP address automatically" which is the normal default.

Your Bullet should be set as a Station/Router with Nat enabled.
__________________
Bob Stewart
W32PAMELA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 15:15   #1239
Registered User
 
Sumner's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SE Utah
Boat: 1981 Endeavour 37 & 1990 MacGregor 26 Classic
Posts: 370
Re: Long-Distance WiFi Device

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adalton View Post
Thank you guys for your help. I did find the select button and was able to connect to a wireless network....
You can at times get on a wireless network, but if that network doesn't have access to the Internet you won't either. They might have a router on that you can connect to, but the modem to the Internet via say their phone company turned off,

Sum
Sumner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 15:53   #1240
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Boat: 40' Silverton Aftcabin with twin Crusaders
Posts: 1,590
Re: Long-Distance WiFi Device

And if its encrypted, WPA, WPA2 and the list goes on, forget about them. Many times you can get to a server only to find it has encryption. A bullet WILL provide great help though in areas where a WIFI is open to the public
__________________
foggysail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2013, 04:33   #1241
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 127
Re: Long-Distance WiFi Device

The #1 question I get from new users. They find a good signal but can't get to the Internet because they are connected to a router which is not on line. If you are able to do a site survey and select a signal your side is working.
__________________
Gashmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:48   #1242
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Man, what a learning curve! And I though I knew computers and networking pretty well. The secret trick is that you have to have a static IP address in the adapter to access the bullet and select a network, then change to Getting an IP address automatically to be able to access the Internet. The default settings and configuration for the bullet are fine. My wireless mode is station and the network mode is bridge. Oh yeah, and you have to know to hit select under the wireless tab to connect to a network!

Now that it all works, it works great. I have the bullet running to a 12volt Netgear router so I have my own wireless network on the boat!

The other thing I ran into is that there is no good bracket on the market to attach the bullet and antenna to a rail. I saw one I liked on Wave Wifi's website so I called them. Carl and Richard were both super helpful and one of their custom made brackets is on its way to me. Bottom line is that if I were going to do it all again I would buy a setup from Wave or Island Time PC. They take care of a lot of the configuration for you and the technical support can be priceless!

Thanks to everyone here who got me going in the right direction.

Antony Dalton
"Bliss"
Tampa, Fl.
__________________
Adalton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 13:22   #1243
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,433
Re: Long-Distance WiFi Device

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adalton View Post
Man, what a learning curve! And I though I knew computers and networking pretty well. The secret trick is that you have to have a static IP address in the adapter to access the bullet and select a network, then change to Getting an IP address automatically to be able to access the Internet. The default settings and configuration for the bullet are fine. My wireless mode is station and the network mode is bridge. Oh yeah, and you have to know to hit select under the wireless tab to connect to a network!

Now that it all works, it works great. I have the bullet running to a 12volt Netgear router so I have my own wireless network on the boat!
Why would you not let the Bullet be the router? Then the ethernet address is static all the time alleviating that pain. Just use the Netgear for an AP.
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 15:02   #1244
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun View Post

Why would you not let the Bullet be the router? Then the ethernet address is static all the time alleviating that pain. Just use the Netgear for an AP.
Exactly, the Bullet must be Station&Router&NAT. In bridge mode not all Wifi services will accept you as multiple MAC addresses leak out of your network.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 19:57   #1245
Registered User
 
saw77's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Salem, MA
Boat: Catalina 34
Posts: 70
Re: Long-Distance WiFi Device

I'm planning to set my wifi stuff up on the boat this weekend, after reading through some documentation for the Nanostation M2 as well as various threads here one thing is a bit unclear. My impression is that the Nanostation will not set up a wireless network that I can connect to from various devices. Is that correct?

If that's the case, will an Apple Airport Express (or Extreme) Base Station work with the Nanostation?
__________________

__________________
- Steve
saw77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cats Better for Long Distance Sailing? Cavecreature Multihull Sailboats 68 29-05-2009 02:05
Long distance communication MDhillon Navigation 2 10-03-2009 17:39
Long distance transport? dory36 Dollars & Cents 5 25-01-2007 13:35
buying and owning boats long distance capt lar Monohull Sailboats 10 29-03-2005 08:15



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.