Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-10-2018, 03:38   #1

Boat: Stevens 47
Iridium Go Battery Burst

I was changing SIM cards on my Iridium Go and noticed that the battery had burst.

Is this a regular occurrence ? Do these have a known life expectancy that should be advertised or I should have noticed. As a mechanical engineer I am a big fan of preventive maintenance but I never thought to life cycle this battery. I know at least one other boat that had the problem but I wasn’t smart enough to get a spare battery when in NZ.

We only operate the Go connected to the boat’s power.

Tried running it without a battery but on the boat’s power. I get a GPS fix but no satellite signal. Next step - force the battery back in ?

Frustrating to have another Go issue since we found a few months ago that the red GEOS button is defective too and bad timing as our back up satphone is no good without a replacement SIM card that or may not make it from our air time provider.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	69103286-37B8-402D-8E47-82A13D38843C.jpeg
Views:	317
Size:	36.0 KB
ID:	179767  
Fluenta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2018, 07:19   #2
cruiser

Boat: Retired from CF
Re: Iridium Go Battery Burst

How old is the unit?

Batteries are a consumable.

Does it operate without it in place?

If so better to keep out, plug it in every month for a day to keep it topped up?
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2018, 11:35   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by john61ct View Post
How old is the unit?

Batteries are a consumable.

Does it operate without it in place?

If so better to keep out, plug it in every month for a day to keep it topped up?