Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-05-2012, 08:57   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 407
getting 220v 60hz and 110v 60hz at same time

Hi. I bought my 7.6 d-net last year from engines1. i am sailing in Grand Cayman at the moment. I bought a dive compressor with a 220v 60hz motor. My boat is wired 110v 60hz and all my AC equipment is 110v 60hz. can i wire the compressor directly to the genset and have the 220v compressor working at the same time as the 110v is being fed to the AC distribution board. I have looked at the supplied wiring diagram but not sure how to interpret it.It does show that you can wire this way but i am not sure what to do with the 3 core cable from the compressor. Hot , nuetral and earth.If i need to use two 110v poles , how do i connect one hot to two poles and how will this affect the 110v side of things as i need charge batteries , use microwave at the same time as filling a dive tank. Your help will be appreciated. Regards Chris
__________________

__________________
Overlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2012, 09:32   #2
Registered User
 
Greg4cocokai's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Long Beach, Ca. USA
Boat: Norseman 447
Posts: 295
Re: getting 220v 60hz and 110v 60hz at same time

You should be able to rewire the dive compressor motor to 110v. There's usually a wiring diagram on the motor. It would be the same setup we have on our boat.
__________________

__________________
GREG, s/v Sirena
currently, Long Beach, Ca.
Greg4cocokai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2012, 10:50   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 407
Re: getting 220v 60hz and 110v 60hz at same time

i dont think this one can be rewired as i purposely bought a 220v as its amp draw is less than a 110v motor. I need help on the genset side , someone who is familiar with westerbeke 7.6 model
__________________
Overlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2012, 19:16   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,432
Re: getting 220v 60hz and 110v 60hz at same time

You can certainly rewire the genset to produce 240v/60hz and run the compressor. By doing this you will create (2) 120v/60hz circuits that must be kept and managed separately. Today you have a single output of 120v/60hz with a 7.6kw capacity. If you rewire you will be sharing 7.6kw with (1) 240v/60hz and (2) 120v/60hz circuits. Each 120v circuit will be limited to 3.8kw.

You need to employ a licensed marine electrician to make these changes for you. Don't take the chance of injuring people or burning your boat down.
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2012, 19:26   #5
Registered User
 
Nicholson58's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Live aboard
Boat: Camper & Nicholson58 Ketch - ROXY Traverse City, Michigan No.668283
Posts: 3,466
Images: 83
Re: getting 220v 60hz and 110v 60hz at same time

Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun View Post
You can certainly rewire the genset to produce 240v/60hz and run the compressor. By doing this you will create (2) 120v/60hz circuits that must be kept and managed separately. Today you have a single output of 120v/60hz with a 7.6kw capacity. If you rewire you will be sharing 7.6kw with (1) 240v/60hz and (2) 120v/60hz circuits. Each 120v circuit will be limited to 3.8kw.

You need to employ a licensed marine electrician to make these changes for you. Don't take the chance of injuring people or burning your boat down.
The usual wiring on the Genset will be like the 220 lead to your house. there will be a neutral, ground and two 110 leads the 110 powers are opposite phase just like you house. If you connect them correctly to the 220 motor you can run it. Check the leads from the genset with a volt-meter. You should see 110 to ground or neutral and 220 between the two 110 leads. If you try to rewire the motor to 110 and use only one of the 110 generator circuits you may overload that half of the generator output. You probably can't hurt the equipment as long as you are fiddling on the breaker protected side of the generator output. If this is too confusing, PLEASE find a sparky to help.
__________________
Nicholson58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2012, 19:40   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
David M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: research vessel
Posts: 10,152
Re: getting 220v 60hz and 110v 60hz at same time

No offense, but since you do not seem to understand what an L1 and L2 means and what it does, then please hire a professional.
__________________
David

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2012, 19:47   #7
Registered User
 
Vyndance's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ventura, CA
Boat: 48 Californian
Posts: 195
Images: 12
Re: getting 220v 60hz and 110v 60hz at same time

The generator can be rewired to 120/240. No Problem. Then you will have to split your existing 120 panel and add another main. You would be far ahead, cost wise, to swap the motor for a 120vac motor. Why were you worried about saving amps on a ac circuit with a 7.6kw genset.
__________________
Vyndance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2012, 20:12   #8
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 12,383
Re: getting 220v 60hz and 110v 60hz at same time

Chris,

One thing you may not be aware of. If for example, you need a 5 HP motor to run something (like a dive compressor) a 220V motor will draw fewer amps but it will be using the same amount of power in Watts or Kilowatts from your compressor as a 110V motor.

5 HP is about 3.7 K Watts. The power of a motor, simplified formula is Volts X Amps. So to make 5 HP you do draw half the amps with 220V compared to a 110V motor but you are still using about 3.7 K Watts from your generator.

Bottom line, you use the same amount of power from your generator either way.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2012, 15:37   #9
Registered User
 
Greg4cocokai's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Long Beach, Ca. USA
Boat: Norseman 447
Posts: 295
Chris, we have a westerbeke 7.6 running at 110v and a Bower jr II that was wired for 220v and I rewired the elec motor to run on 110v. Everything runs great!

Cheers, Greg
__________________
GREG, s/v Sirena
currently, Long Beach, Ca.
Greg4cocokai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2012, 15:51   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 407
Re: getting 220v 60hz and 110v 60hz at same time

thanks , i think that your idea is the easiest. how do i go about changing the motor from 220v 60 hz to 110 v 60 hz?
__________________

__________________
Overlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:59.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.