Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-01-2015, 18:35   #1
RDW
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Boat: Morris 1996 46' Lexington
Posts: 378
class A AIS

I currently have a Class B receiver AIS connected to a Raymarine E 80 chart plotter. The chart plotter is intergrated with my radar, gps and navonics charts.
I need to upgrade to class A AIS. Required for World Arc.
Can I just buy a unit and plug it into where the other one was ?
Sorry if I am not giving you enough information.
I am just beginning to look into this!
RDW
__________________

__________________
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2015, 18:48   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Elsewhere on the Water
Posts: 571
Re: class A AIS

If there is a requirement for you to have Class A AIS, I expect they are requiring a transceiver (Xmit & Receive). Class A's likely would require use of their own GPS and VHF antennas, and the wiring and interface with plotters etc. may be quite different. Class A's are much more $$, and have a lot more functions.
__________________

__________________
St. Elsewhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2015, 19:45   #3
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Re: class A AIS

I would like Class A and if my boat was a new build I would have it.

The Raymarine 950 Class A is about $3,000 and, obviously, will integrate with your Raymarine chartplotter.

AIS950 Spec. US

I am a bit surprised the WARC requires A Class...


[edit]

I just checked and the World ARC does not require Class A. It requires either Class A or Class B
Quote:
AIS
i. World ARC. A transponder (Class A or B) is a mandatory requirement for World ARC.
http://www.worldcruising.com/CMS/CMS...ns_ENG_Web.pdf

There ya go, I just saved you over $2,000!!!!! Raymarine 650 Class B is about $900.




Mark
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2015, 20:05   #4
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,016
Re: class A AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by RDW View Post
I currently have a Class B receiver AIS connected to a Raymarine E 80 chart plotter. The chart plotter is intergrated with my radar, gps and navonics charts.
I need to upgrade to class A AIS. Required for World Arc.
Can I just buy a unit and plug it into where the other one was ?
Sorry if I am not giving you enough information.
I am just beginning to look into this!
RDW
It should work ok. There may be some messages from the class A unit that the Raymarine doesn't present on the plotter but that should not be any problem. I think the main reason they want WARC boats to use class A is because the class A units transmit with more power than class B and thus can be heard farther away. Raymarine make a class A unit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by St. Elsewhere View Post
If there is a requirement for you to have Class A AIS, I expect they are requiring a transceiver (Xmit & Receive). Class A's likely would require use of their own GPS and VHF antennas, and the wiring and interface with plotters etc. may be quite different. Class A's are much more $$, and have a lot more functions.
This is their safety requirements:

http://www.worldcruising.com/CMS/CMS...ations_ENG.pdf

And yes, they require a class A transponder (there is no such thing as a class A receive only unit so far as I know).
__________________
transmitterdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2015, 20:06   #5
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,016
Re: class A AIS

From 2015 onwards they require class A I think.
__________________
transmitterdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2015, 20:10   #6
RDW
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Boat: Morris 1996 46' Lexington
Posts: 378
Re: class A AIS

MarkJ
The the information I received from World Cruising stated class A transponder.
I checked again after your post.
Thanks for trying to save me $
rdw
__________________
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2015, 20:31   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,929
Re: class A AIS

Comar CSA-300 Class A AIS Transponder
Class A transponder on sale $2499.
__________________
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2015, 22:43   #8
Registered User
 
Agility's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Colorado
Boat: Chris White A47 Mastfoil
Posts: 310
Images: 6
class A AIS

Class A seems overkill.
__________________
Agility is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2015, 23:07   #9
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,929
Re: class A AIS

I was watching the Prince Rupert area AIS system and the commercial ships use Class A while the Pilot boats use Class B. I was quite surprised by the difference in range as the Pilot boats headed out to an incoming ship or to pick up a pilot from an outgoing vessel. The AIS shore receiver there is mounted on the side of a mountain, probably more than 100' above sea level with no obstructions so the difference in range would likely be just the difference in power.
__________________
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 01:23   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Underway in the Med -
Boat: Jeanneau 40 DS SoulMates
Posts: 1,904
Images: 1
Re: class A AIS

we run a raymarine e80 and have for the past several years. we got a aci ais class a - send and receive - with it's own gps and antenna, and it is connected to the e80 via nema.

it works great and has for the past several years.

check other mfgers of ais and a nema feed.
__________________
just our thoughts and opinions
chuck and svsoulmates
In Marmaris Turkey for the winter
chuckr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 05:55   #11
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: class A AIS

Strange, the 2015 world ARC is currently swarming around us now, and almost all of them have class B AIS.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 09:45   #12
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Elsewhere on the Water
Posts: 571
Re: class A AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepFrz View Post
The AIS shore receiver there is mounted on the side of a mountain, probably more than 100' above sea level with no obstructions so the difference in range would likely be just the difference in power.
Power difference is likely the largest factor, but the difference in antenna height on the vessels is not trivial.
__________________
St. Elsewhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 14:52   #13
Registered User
 
ka4wja's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,033
Re: class A AIS

If you must equip with a Class A AIS unit...
I highly recommend the Furuno FA-150....
It will cost you about $3000....and will work well for you...


St. Elsewhere, et al,
Actually the antenna height and location on the commercial vessels with Class A AIS units, is likely the largest factor, compared to the low antennas on the pilot vessels, which can very easily have their signals blocked/attenuated by the waves....and the lower power combined with the possible signal losses from the slower update rate of the Class B units on the pilot boats as they roll/pitch in the seas, etc. to be secondary...
Quote:
Originally Posted by St. Elsewhere View Post
Power difference is likely the largest factor, but the difference in antenna height on the vessels is not trivial.


The larger question I have is why isn't the World ARC recommending better or more experienced skippers/crew, etc. rather than a Class A AIS??
Or how about complying to the ISAF Cat 0 regs???
(perhaps it a WARC rule that stems out of "consistency is best" philosophy?? or maybe they just want to be able to conform to any/all changing national rules/regs that their participants might find over the next year or so???)


Oh, well....that's all for now....

Fair winds...

John
s/v Annie Laurie
__________________
ka4wja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 15:11   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: class A AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by ka4wja View Post
The larger question I have is why isn't the World ARC recommending better or more experienced skippers/crew, etc. rather than a Class A AIS??
WHAAAHAAAHAAAHAAA! I just spit coffee all over Weavis's screen!

The WARC is currently buzzing around us right now - oh man, the stories I could tell you just from listening to them all freaking day on the VHF!

Unbelievable how truly green and unprepared many of them are. I don't think some of them can take a dump without first coordinating with the "rally control".

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 15:15   #15
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,725
Re: class A AIS

The deal-breaker for me for Class "A" AIS is the fact that you have to program it with voyage data every time you go out.

Theoretically, you even have to reprogram it every time you go from sail to power or back.

This is fine for ships, but not suitable for casual or short-handed sailing.
__________________

__________________
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Icom MA-500TR Class B AIS - Anyone Used it Yet ? beetle Marine Electronics 19 22-09-2017 11:17
AIS Class B Can Be Filtered Out by Big Ship Radars goboatingnow Marine Electronics 28 30-01-2012 03:10
Simrad Class B AIS via Simnet to NX40 Connector ? SvenG Marine Electronics 11 13-03-2011 15:59
Class B AIS ozboatie Marine Electronics 4 27-06-2010 09:40
Class B AIS finally approved AnchorageGuy Navigation 12 22-09-2008 10:19



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:11.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.